Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Very bad experience

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Service really poor and unpolite staff. Restaurant managed very badly with non competent manager and food under any standard. Breakfast basic with coffee served in plastic cup. Wifi only in common area and old TVs in room my was not working. Noisy staff too. Only good aspect perfect location x holiday
1 out of 5
by Af from Rome, Italy

Good location but bad value for money

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Loction on the beach
Cons: Staff, very unprofessional at reception
Location: On the beach
Unfriendly stuff, constant noise and very loud music at every hour of te day and night (from a club near by). Great location on the beach but overall would not recommend at all. Bad value for money
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisy and uncomfortable

Posted Aug 6, 2011 on Hotels
we stayed there only for two nights, but were happy to leave as soon as possible. we booked a room with sea view and got a room without balcony and a small window. ok, thats not a big deal as we wanted to spend the day outside and the evening on the beach. unfortunately the beach was closed in the evening. the pool area was almost empty, but very noisy ... maybe because of the worst dj i´ve ever experienced. the air condition of the room didnt work at all, even we informed the staff at the reception about it and they promised that they would activate it from their desk. finally we managed to set up the temp in our room to 16°C, but the room remained hot. also the fan in the bathroom didnt work and we could not lock the door properly. you have to be very lucky to get one of the staff who speaks english. the hotel itself is very noisy and so you can listen to other guest in the corridor as if they are talking in your room. most guests are seniors or families and the hotel was fully booked. the hotel resaurant brings you back to the 80´s and the food was not great either. here i recommend to go for a pizza at the hotel pizzeria beside the pool or to visit one of the nice beach clubs nearby. the breakfast was ok, nothing special and you need to be there very on time as they stop to refill the buffett at around 9:30am. despite of all this inconveniences the staff is very friendly and willing to help even without english and the beach itself is very relaxing and beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from L.A.CA.

great hotel....in a small little town in sicily

Posted May 23, 2011
this hotel is really nice..great staff...the best location in sicily...a little far from town...need car good food
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lindome, Sweden

AVOID!!!

Posted Nov 4, 2010 on Hotels
This tourist industry monster was completely empty when we check-in. The staff we meet was friendly but bluntly explained that the hotel is practically closed. The worst thing was the bloodthirsty mosquito in the room. We never experienced so many, such sleepless nights and so many baits! Avoid, avoid, avoid! The hotel surroundings were also totally abandoned and only the stray dogs accompany us on the dirty beach. No wireless Internet service and practically no breakfast. We are thankful to the Romanian guy who helped us with his computer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

How relaxing!

Posted Jul 24, 2010 on Hotels
The Hotel Baia D'oro is very close to the sea and extremely relaxing. It does not have a safe in the rooms and breakfast is very poor, but staff will always greet you, even if they do not speak English. The hotel restrauant would not be the best around, but there are two beach clubs within a 3 minute walking distance that are the nicest and worth a visit. The beach is amazing! It was just the nicest relaxing holiday I have had to date. It was a shame that the use of the beach loungers was not included in the price of the stay, but that you have to pay extra on leaving. English is a bit of an issue, but just bring an Italian dictionary. It is great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good priced hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2009
Lovely location facing directly onto a sandy beach. Comfortable rooms all with sea view. Beware - out of season there is no evening meal - just breakfast. Reception staff are helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful place. Very relaxing.

Posted Aug 23, 2008
This hotel is great. Right on a really fantastic beach. Nice pool. If you want a relaxing holiday then go there. It's an authentic Italian experience, as there are very few English speakers around. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Really nice room and great location. A couple of downsides... one is that the air conditioning in the room is not very good (the room stayed quite warm throughout the night). Another point is that as the hotel is so remote you really need a scooter/car to get around. Getting to the place can be quite difficult by public transport and there are not a lot of bars/restaurants close by at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Large hotel, lovely bay

Posted May 28, 2008
A big hotel with great views across a lovely bay, ideal for swimming. Professional staff (speak some English and German), and a good restaurant. We visited out of season and the place was dead - at times we were 1 of only 2 couples there, and had the whole bay almost to ourselves. But the resort looks as though it is heaving in the season (mid-June thru September). There's a large pool but it's not screened - so exposed to breezes. We prefer the beach: sunloungers and parasols provided. One point in the description was wrong - there are no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms (in common with most European hotels), only at the bar. Our only niggles were a bathroom extractor fan that only worked when switched on at reception (!), and hard mattresses on the beds. Overall though, a good place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brussels

OK Hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2008
good ,well located