Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location and reasonably pleasant staff, tired

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Hotel is an excellent location. Members of staff are pleasant. Room was unclean, shower was dangerous and could hear everyone below you. Hotel is 2.5 stars not 3 stars. Pressure of shower is dangerous with the shower nearly knocking me out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Small Room

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: The pillows
Cons: Look after returning guests. Especially if better rooms are available. Which they were!!!!
Location: Location is good. Nice big car park.
Having stayed here several times, the rooms have always been large and comfortable. However I was very surprised they put me in a room that was the size of a shoe box. I will now probably stay in Lichfield at a different hotel. Sorry to say but was very disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from crewe cheshire

Breakfast fiasco

Posted Nov 27, 2017
We stayed for the night on Saturday which was fine. We went down for breakfast around 9am. We had to ask for cups glasses and toast at least twice before they came the buffet breakfast was not topped up. We ordered a full English which eventually arrived but was really gresy so left some will not be staying again and not recommending it to anyone sorry need more staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol.

The Cathedral Hotel, Lichfield.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
A very striking period building, a comfortable room and bed, we slept well. Breakfast was very good, a really good choice of buffet breakfast. The full English breakfast was well cooked and tasty, the staff were very polite and helpful. The Hotel is within walking distance of the centre of the pedestrianised district, with coffee shops, restaurants and shops. A good value for money Hotel, I would recommend it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Decor is very tired and worn out

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Needs renovating
Location: Excellent - visit cathedral and restaurants
The carpet was so worn I was not convinced that it could be clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel within walking distance to city center

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: car parking on site
Location: walking distance to city center.
check in warm and friendly. room clean but dated bathroom ok bath small and flimsy, shower curtain too long and needed good clean. shower had mind of own as broken connection to rail although tied on could not take water pressure and hit ceiling. No AC, room hot during night small fan provided in room.
3 out of 5
by Georgina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Conveniently close to the cathedral

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Staff extremely helpful. Room good size basically clean but very tired. Breakfast excellent and very good value
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Nice hotel - easy walk into town

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Great staff. Comfy bed. Good location. WiFi. Parking
Cons: Kitchen closed at 9:00 pm - would be nice to perhaps have sandwiches available afterwards if guests get in late
Location: Close to cathedral. Lakes and parks. Town centre an easy walk. Short drive to National Memorial Arboretum
Believe hotel had changed ownership shortly before our stay. Quick registration. Extremely helpful staff, carried luggage to first floor without being asked (no lift). Nice sized room. Were warned about a large event taking place on our first night but we'd been given a room away from the function room so it did not impact. Nice hotel bar, decent bar menu. Breakfast buffet, cooked to order.
2 out of 5
by Susan

Some work needed here....

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
I understand the hotel has new owners, so maybe they will sort some of these things out. When we turned down the bed, there was no sheet on the mattress. We then discovered the room phone wasn't working so had to go to reception - the night porter was very apologetic and provided a sheet, helping me make the bed. However our night was not peaceful as the mattress was so hard we could not get comfortable. The springs could be felt! In the morning, we found there was a leak in the bathroom and the floor was wet. The staff were very apologetic and helpful - and the breakfast was first class and we had a lovely view oft he cathedral.