Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A Truly German Experience

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Its style, looking like an old German establishment, with many old photographs of an old fire station and its surroundings.
Cons: A warmer comforter for the bed, it gets really cold in September when the heating is not yet on. Also, a soap dispenser close to the shower.
Location: The hotel is in a very nice suburb, close to a supermarket and a few eating places. there is a large park bordering a beautiful lake, only a 10-minute
Most of the hotel guests are German speaking and the hotel architecture gives one the feeling of being in contact with the German culture. Even though the hotel is outside the area covered by Berlin tourist maps, it is easy to get to using a streetcar that starts from the main train station, passes close to Museum Island and right through Alexanderplatz. My hotel room had a lot more character than one normally gets, it was very clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent.
5 out of 5
by hidden gem from Berlin

the staff here are superb

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
I keep coming back because of the helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by Clive

Not central but frequent trams service - 25mins

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
We'd booked a triple room but were given a twin room instead. Had we not been soaking wet from our bike ride, we would have tried to sort it out then. The next day we raised the query and were offered a slight larger room on the top floor, which the lift did not serve. The location is a fair way from the centre but the trams stop about 100m down the road and it's about 25 minutes to the city €2.80 single, pay on the tram COINS ONLY. It's not far from the main road but we were astonished how quiet it was at night. Good choice at breakfast €9 each.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Quiet comfortable hotel.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Hotel is situated in a residential area of East Berlin so is quiet and safe. A stone's throw from a tram stop offering transport into Alexanderplatz where you can reach the rest of the city by u-bahn. The rooms are clean with basic furniture and comfortable beds. Staff are friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chester

Good budget hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
A bit far from the airport however public transport is excellent therefore easily accessible. Hotel stuff are friendly went above and beyond to help us. Room was tiny (booked double but given a tiny twin room). Will go back to Berlin again and will avoid this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Close to public transport, clean hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Public transport
Cons: Staff attitude
The hotel was ok, however there was maintenance work outside our window at 8:00 so we asked if we could be moved to another room. The staff member refused to entertain the idea and was quite rude!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Hotel without basic amenities.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
There is no aircon in the rooms, and we struggled to get a fan. There are no blinds or curtains and we found it hard to get a good night's sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Quietly located hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: The staff - especially helpful was Herr Lorenz.
Cons: The amenities; couldn't get a decent iron!
Location: Quiet location.
Although the room was small, and the amenities were somewhat lacking, the staff made up for this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton ON

Easy tram ride from Alexanderplatz

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Situated in a quiet part of the city with nearby restaurants and cafes
Cons: Reception area is restricted, but this is true of many smaller European hotels
Location: See above re location. Not many tourist venues in the immediate area of the hotel
The hotel. situated in the former East Berlin, is about 30 min by taxi from Berlin Hauptbahnhof. Tram M5 which runs close to the hotel,will take you to Alexanderplatz, with connections to other parts of Berlin via S-Bahn, U-Bahn. or bus. The hotel is clean and the staff courteous and friendly. They will assist you with tourist inquiries and can provide tram tickets. We were on the top floor which meant an elevator ride to Floor 2 and stairs the rest of the way. The staircase was short and was no problem to us, even with luggage. Breakfasts are worth the price.