Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leicestershire

Sleepless nights

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Cost,convenient location & friendly staff.
We stayed at this hotel for three nights, all of the staff that we met were friendly and helpful. Our room whilst basic was clean & could not be faulted. Being opposite a busy train station whilst great for getting about meant that it was rather noisy at night and anyone who is a light sleeper should ask for a room at the back. The bakery just down the road is open at 6:00 am and is excellent value for the money and the Italian restaurant just across from it is well worth a visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Dissapointing

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the train station
Cons: Cleanliness of the bathroom, fixtures could be more modern, artificial lighting could be better
I arrived at the hotel and despite Expedian saying that I had paid 100% of the deposit at the time of booking I was faced with paying at the desk. This was Expedian's error- as the hotel in fact took 0% of the cost at time of booking and ALL was charged at the desk. This should be clearer on the website, at the end of the day I had to pay a non Sterling transaction fee on top of the cost of the room. When we went upstairs we were faced with a dark room (one window blocked over completely) with scaffolding works outside. There were ongoing works beginning early in the morning waking us up on our first day of the holiday, with men literally outside our window blasting it with water so much so the water came through the window, onto our sill and onto our belongings below the window. The room was not a double- it was two singles pushed together with wooden slats between them (so much for a romantic break). The mini bar was an empty fridge. The only saving grace for the hotel was that it was so close to the S-bahn that you could escape every morning to enjoy the awesome city. There is also a bar underneath that is open all weekend and a kebab shop across the road which serves haloumi durrums at any time of day or night! The cleaning staff were alright, changing my sheets one night after I had spilt durum sauce on the bed- although they did come in despite the "do not disturb" on the day we were checking out, about 2 hours before our check out time.
2 out of 5
by bruce

Not happy

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Room smelled and was musty. I had to move out on a 17 day booking due to discomfort and no refund offered at all. Spent three days there and lost the cost of the remaining 14 days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay at Hotel Nova

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Good value stay at Hotel Nova Sept. 2016. "S" & "U" Bahn stations very close by.
2 out of 5
by Gustavo from London

Surprisingly bad

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
The room stunk of cigarette smoke, even though I had chosen a non-smoking room. The double bed was two single beds put together and I could not sleep close to my girlfriend because of the slopes between the two beds. The neighborhood was the worse I had in my whole life. People were terribly rude to me and my girlfriend at the Berlin-Lichtenberg Bahn Station for no reason. I reckon that it was because we did not speak English. The only thing good at our stay was the kindness of some of the staff we had contact with. I for one do not plan to go back to this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Very good hotel, especially for the price!

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: The location, the staff and the breakfast.
Cons: Overall room quality i.e. with inclusion of a fridge and just a general update.
Location: Directly opposite a train station for ease of access - unable to comment on things nearby, spent most of our time in Alexanderplatz and around.
I would highly recommend this hotel - directly opposite Lichtenberg U+S-Bahn station, an easy 8-stop hop into the centre. Also extremely convenient location to get to Schonefeld Airport. There is also 3 separate shops nearby for day-to-day items such as toothpaste, water, alcohol (although not necessarily a day-to-day product!) etc. The rooms, although basic in terms of facilities (and the vague background smell of cigarette smoke) were extremely clean and the shower was top-notch. The hotel breakfast was very good, with plenty on offer each day. Even better, if you purchase the bed and breakfast option, if you are unable to have breakfast for one day during your stay (as was our case when we had to catch a flight very early in the morning) they will prepare you a packed lunch for the trip (complete with boiled eggs!). All staff were extremely friendly and helpful Overall, cannot really fault this hotel and would highly recommend!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Staff were helpful and hotel and rooms were clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in a great location.

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Very attractive pricing. Easily accessed to and from with trains across the road. A range of local shops, bars and eating options. Good fast wifi.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: In the location there are varied eating options and pubs/clubs, however all Berlin sites are readily available via the super train services.
We had 5 nights in the Nova and we're very pleased with the location over the road from a major train station and in an area where we could walk only a few meters to shops and services. The rail services were superb and allowed economical, fast access to all city sites and nearby towns. The supplied breakfast was exceptional and well done.
5 out of 5
by Emmanuel from Vancouver

Nice hotel in east Berlin

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is a little far from Berlin, but it is just outside the train station, so you can connect pretty easily. Their staff, specially Sebastian and Pascal were really friendly and helpful, most of my stay was great thanks to them. The room was really big and clean, with lots of natural light.