Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

THIS HOTEL IS CLOSED FOR DEMOLITION.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: THE HOTEL COULD BE OPEN FOR BUSINESS. WITH GLASS IN THE WINDOWS.
Location: LIKE A WAR ZONE.
WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. LIKE A HOLIDAY NIGHTMARE. REPEAT, LIKE A NIGHTMARE. THE HOTEL IS ACTUALLY BEING PULLED DOWN.
4 out of 5
by Stuart from Ashford, Kent.

Nice hotel & nice City, but beware where you park!

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
There were a group of 17 of us booked to stay here, and we all Really enjoyed this hotel, the rooms were very clean and beds extremely comfortable. The staff very friendly, and the hotel bar, although a bit pricey was a pleasant place to have a few drinks. It is a nice stroll to the city centre and in the opposite direction there is a shopping centre. The only thing that put a dampener on our stay was a friends car being broken into outside the hotel ! It turns out the car park outside is NOT part of the hotel, their parking is underground and very secure, but we were not made aware of this when checking in ! so obviously we all parked outside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Luxembourg, Luxembourg

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The hotel is decently located and pretty affordable, but you definitely get what you pay for. Outdated decor, peeling carpets, bathrooms that were barely cleaned, and a lame breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Daniel from Kent

Very dated

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
Not 5 or 4 star. Hotel fine with clean rooms and nice staff but is tired with dated decor throughout
3 out of 5
by Michael from Oxford

Nice riverside location

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels
The great thing about this hotel is its great access. Major roads into the city have to cross the river, so as the hotel is on the river, easy to find and park. A little tired, and while I ate in the bar both evenings I was there, the bar food needs a definite boost in quality! Their are plrnty of other bars and restaurants a short walk away. Good value hotel, I will stay again
2 out of 5
by abdulaziz from Visitor

Not satisfied,, they didn't care

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels
Noisy sink throughout the night. They promised to fix it but never did. Didn't provide soap, sugar, tea, coffee after next day room service! Wouldn't stay there another time for sure.
4 out of 5
by A

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by K from Durham, UK

Good and Comfortable

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels
The Hotel was good location, staff are nice, good size room and comfortable bed. The parking was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Mediocre

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Cons: Health club hours.
Comfortable enough, and nicely positioned between the train station and the centre of town. Health/fitness club is good, but opening hours far too short in the weekend, and it would be nice if the lady behind the counter spoke one or two words of English. The town is not terribly exciting, and becomes a ghost town on Sunday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Alliance Hotel experience

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Located adjcent to the Place de Congress. it has convenient free parking and is located within walking distance to many shops and tourist sights.
Cons: Better location signage
Location: Located near the Muese river and when we stayed there it was near the sight of a festival activity. Has a romantic river walk and is close to cultural
Had difficulty finding it but once located it was a pleasant experience.