Ratings based on 1,481 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelled awful

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The hotel smelled like old trash. The elevator smelled like old mildew. I could barley breath in there. We had four guests and never received enough towels for everybody. They also charged our card everyday 19 dollars which was finally reimbursed after going to the front desk three times. Front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming however.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pool closes at 8:30

Posted Jul 19, 2016
We decided to spend one day longer on our Williamsburg vacation then we planned so we had to find a hotel that wasn't completely booked last minute and wouldn't cost us a fortune. We found the Howard Johnson and was pleased that it had a pool for the kids after a long day of touring and that it offered a free breakfast. To our surprise when we arrived at the hotel the hotel staff informed us the pool closes at 8:30. This was the first disappointment. Our kids were looking forward to one last night in the pool before heading home from our vacation. Now we had two disappointed kids who had nothing to do. We definitely could not stay a week here. After a day of touring, then dinner, the kids just want to have fun in the pool until bedtime. The next disappointment was the room. It wasn't very clean, especially the bathroom, the phone didn't work without holding the receiver button up with your hand while talking, there wasn't an exhaust fan in the bathroom so when showers were taken the whole run became muggy, the towels were rough, my room key wouldn't work until I swiped it 20 times, and employees were just ok. They didn't make me feel overly welcome. The plus of the hotel was the breakfast....a lot to pick from including eggs and waffles and the room was a nice spacious room. Also the beds were clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Wouldn't stay again

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Parking was horrible. The front desk was slow. The room was dirty. Trash under the table and the tub still had someone else's hair in it. Overall I was very dissatisfied and won't be staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CHEAP hotel.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Your getting what you pay for. Staff was helpful and nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K...Oh

Great staff

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The staff there go above and beyond to make your stay there great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2016
The hotel had recently been remodeled. The price was very good for the location. The rooms were very clean. However, the furniture was a little outdated. The room did not have an ironing board and that was the first time I'd been in a room without one in a long time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Busch Garden Trip

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Cons: They need remodeling the bathroom
The room wasn't clean when I got there, so I had get another room. The elevators where working slow and I had to get my own towels. Breakfast also wasn't ready on time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HOJO WILLIAMSBURG

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: SEE ABOVE
Cons: THE TOWELS FELT LIKE SAND PAPER COMPARED TO WHAT I HAVE A HOME. THAT SAID, THEY WERE CLEAN.
Location: SEE ABOVE
NICE, WELL MAINTAINED, CLEAN, TWO ELEVATORS, INDOOR HEATED POOL, EGGS AND WAFFLES FOR BREAKFAST ALONG WITH THE USUAL AND CLOSE TO SUPER WALMART, HARRIS TEETERS, HARDEES, SONICS, MCDONALDS AND BURGER KING. MCDONALDS AND HARDEES ARE LITERALLY RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET. WILLIAMSBURG POTTERY IS ABOUT TWO MILES AWAY, YANKEE CANDLE ABOUT THREE MILES AND THE OUTLET SHOPS ABOUT FIVE MILES. COLONIAL WILLIAMSBURG IS PERHAPS SIX MILES AWAY. ROOMS HAVE A GOOD SIZED REFRIGERATOR, MICROWAVE AND FLAT SCREEN TVS. NICE PLACE FOR THE MONEY!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Decent Enough Stay. Definitely in Need of Updates

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: The staff was super nice! Everyone was absolutely helpful and friendly. The room was clean for the most part, and the location was decent.
Cons: The parking lot NEEDS updating. The cleaning service needs more people on staff. Our room was not cleaned regularly because it is one person
Location: Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, and Busch Gardens all within about 15 minutes away. For food, tons of options, NY Deli is a favorite.
We checked in Wednesday June 15th and our stay was to the 22nd. THE GOOD:The staff was very nice and helpful, the room was comfortable, and the location is good for tourists on a budget. The staff was super nice! Everyone was absolutely helpful and friendly. The room was clean for the most part, and the proximity to area attractions is great. THE BAD: The parking lot NEEDS updating. The cleaning service needs more people on staff. Our room was not cleaned regularly because it is one person on our floor and she would take FOREVER to get to our room. It did not seem like the turn down service was regular as a result. The continental breakfast was limited to a few things, and you have to get there QUICK to enjoy the full menu. One of the cleaning staff has to bring her kiddos along with her when she cleans. They are adorable, but I am not so sure that being in a hotel while mom is working is an appropriate place for them to be. THE UGLY: The parking lot has a pothole that is gigantic. So big in fact that it can REALLY damage your car given how deep it is. The back door is not secure. It is open to the public as it were, with no guest only access. Proximity to attractions is good. Stay away from Hardee's across the street. It is awful. However, DO GO to the NY DELI about a block away. THAT PLACE IS AWESOME!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: More lighting in the back.
Location: Was not interested in things to do since I was visiting family.
I had a little trouble with the key card and had to park in the back where it wasn't so well lit, but the room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Maybe my requirements are not high, but I was only spending a night, so I was happy.