Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

v nice hotel comfortable and afortable

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
very good place to stay comfortable and afortable beautyfull view right place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lewisburg, WV

Great place for the bucks! Ask for L-148

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: They leave you alone. . . Housekeeping is 2X week. That's all you need.
Cons: They advertise as if they have full beach gear - snorkeling, chairs, mats, etc. In fact they have some, but could have more. . .
Location: Put simply, you are near to just about everything - if you have a rental car, but many eateries and shopping opportunities are within walking distance
If you're looking to spend inordinate amount of $$ on a luxury hotel with the decadent and unnecessary status and frivolous amenities, this is probably not for you. If, however, you're looking for a clean, 2 story, fully (and I mean fully) furnished condo with a LR, K, 1/2 bath and 2 lanais and a front porch down, AND 2 BR's, a full bath/laundry room up, clean and extremely well-kept, close to everything - much of it in walking distance, then this IS for you. After having some reservations after reading the reviews, we rolled the dice and were SO very pleasantly surprised. The beds were comfortable, the AC's are on timers which can be reset whenever YOU like, and not extremely noisy. The pool is small but newly done, and has nice bathroom/grill/ shelter (who needs a pool except kids). You're 200 yds. from Kalapaki Beach. Some of these are timeshares, some rentals and some are occupied part or all year, so the truth is probably that the quality of the units varies some, but ours was wonderful. Blender, mixer, hair dryer, every kitchen utensil imaginable, great microwave, fridge, view, toaster, insulated curtains, carpet (good shape), tile, plenty closet/ drawer space, ceiling fans, free beach towels, free detergent, soap, etc., impeccable toilets that actually flush every time, very spacious for 4 people, even more so for 3 (the couch folds to a double bed), good screens in all doors, tastefully decorated, good TV's in LR, master BR.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Tamara, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your wonderful detailed review of our property. We are glad that you chose our resort and even more grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great room, across from beach

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Had a wonderful stay, room was clean and comfortable. The concierge (Kiki) was incredible, she had toys for the kids, umbrellas for us and lots for really useful information about the island. One of our best condo experiences to date.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Kearn , Hotel Management
Aloha Ann: Mahalo for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. He all hope to see you again. A Hui Hou
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last experience was better

Posted Aug 28, 2017
My first stay at this hotel was awesome!! I loved everything about it so naturally I decided to stay there again. However this experience wasn't as great as the first time I stayed there. I arrived at the hotel at 4pm which was when you could check in. However much to my surprise the rooms weren't ready. The front desk lady had explained that they a staff meeting that ran longer than expected. She took down my contact info and would call me when the room was ready. An hour went by and I decided to call to see if it was ready and it still wasn't. After another hour had passed (2 hours total) I went into the office to see what the hold up was. She checked with housekeeping who said my room was ready. I was finally able to get my room key and get settled. I understand that there was a staff meeting that ran late however I didn't feel like it should warrant a two hour wait to finally get my room. There was no compensation either. I will give this hotel another try however if I receive the same experience I'll find another hotel to stay at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Kearn, Hotel Management
Aloha: I apologize for your room not being ready when you arrived. Unfortunately our normal check in time is not until 4 pm. If you do plan on arriving early we recommend that you contact us directly to let us know. We will try our best to honor the early check in request. We do charge a minimal charge for an early check in if it can be granted. I would have looked into your reservation but I don't have any information to go on. Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great Condo

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We stayed beginning of August in a 2 bedroom condo. We were surprised that it was two floors, bedrooms and bath on top floor and living room/kitchen on main level! It was a very outdated condo BUT it was clean and comfortable. The beds were comfy, I am a very picky sleeper and I slept amazingly every night. The kitchen was fully stocked with all cook and dish ware, full fridge and appliances. We were able to us our Apple TV on the TV for movies a this night, because our unit had its own WIFI. This was one of the best prices places that I found for our trip and it saved us a lot of money because of the full kitchen also. If your not needing a fancy looking hotel/room, book this place! We only glanced at the pool, I told looked nice, but there was no hot tub which would have been amazing after our 12 hour hiking days. They have tennis and basketball courts and it is right across the street from Kalapaki beach and a ton of food places. Also 10 minute drive from Costco and Walmart!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Kearn , Hotel Management
Aloha Amber: Mahalo for the great review for Banyan Harbor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The cost of operating a hot tub is high so we choose not to have one so we can offer a lower rate to our guests. We hope to see you again. A Hui Hou,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent! Great deal if you're on a budget.

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Clean, had laundry inside and full kitchen. Kids room was perfect! Enjoyed having a closet full of beach gear.
Cons: Lots of stomping, pounding and jumping from upstairs unit late at night and early morning. I could not sleep in for even just one day in two weeks.
Location: Close to everything was a bonus!
Very generous staff and conciege. Kiki is very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by Tamara, Hotel Management
Aloha Irene, Mahalo for you great review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo Nui Loa, Tamara
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice central place to stay on Kauai

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: BBQ, pool, laundry, staff, clean
Location: shopping, dining, beach, fishing
This is a great place to stay if you want to explore the island. It's about an hour away from the North and South beaches. It's very close to the airport and close to Costco so you can stock up and cook in your own kitchen. This was important to my husband and I as we are parents to two boys (one teenager!). They loved coming back to the condo and swimming in the pool after dinner. If you keep your eyes peeled you can spot Gekos on the outside of the condos. This kept my boys entertained! They give you beach towels that can be traded in once a day for fresh ones. They also have beach items you can borrow. We borrowed a cooler for the week and kept cold drinks and snacks in the trunk of our car. Priceless! I was very happy they upgraded our reservation from an one bedroom with a sofa bed to a two bedroom. There is shopping, dining and a beach across the street. There is something for everyone. This is a place that is like home and less like a luxury resort. This totally fit our vacation style.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Tamara, Hotel Management
Aloha Mindy, Thank you for your wonderful review & rating of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again in the future. Mahalo, Tamara
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Very disappointed this time. We had 6 people and one shower, the condo seemed smaller than ones we have stayed in there before. Dryer didn't work very well. The front of the fridge had rust on it and there was a mouse and cockroaches in the room. I have stayed here a few times before and this was by far the worst.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Kearn, Hotel Management
Aloha Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Aloha
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Noisy ground floor units

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Staff was nice condo had everything we needed.
Cons: Something needs to be done with the floors being so thin that we heard everything from the people above us. Air conditioning units were right by bed
Location: Nice beach, restaurants and stores
Be warned: do not stay in a bottom unit. We atYed on the ground level and heard the people on the floor above us 24/7. Plus we constantly heard water flowing from somewhere. Besides those things , we had a nice time. The Banyan is in a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Kearn, Hotel Management
Aloha V: Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your stay. We hope to see you again and ask to be put into a townhouse if you decide to Banyan Harbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yonkers, NY

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Central to the Kalapaki beach and Harbor.
Cons: Nothing
Location: go to Kalapaki beach and Ancor shoping mall.
More than excellent hotel, will visit again.Great for family on budget.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Kearn, Hotel Management
Aloha Oggie Mahalo for the review of your stay with us. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. A Hui Hou,