Ratings based on 562 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Close to shops and Restaurants

Posted Oct 7, 2017
This hotel is conviently located about 1.5 miles from the Lihue Airport. There are many restaurants and stores across the street. The staff was awesome and very friendly! There was a very simple complimentary breakfast with tea and coffee and pastries and some fruit! The hotel has lots of outdoor seating and is definitely Hawaiian themed. My room had a microwave, coffee maker and a few dishes. There was an in window air conditioner and flat screen TV. There is a lot of colorful artwork all over the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

Garden Island Inn stay.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Excellent location and hotel was exactly as advertised. No surprises on arrival.
Cons: Nothing. It is a unique property and should stay that way.
Location: Several good restaurants and local beach easily in walking distance.
I enjoyed our stay at the Garden Island Inn. Close to the local beach and many restaurants. Staff was very friendly. Drive to the local airport was quick. This is not a fancy hotel but met all our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff, Arizona

Nice little hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Great location. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.
The room was nice and larger than I expected. The beach across the street was perfect for swimming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Nice thematic hotel just a street from the beach and close to the airport. Location was perfect as it is central. We expected to have a small kitchen to cook but only the basic furniture were provided. We asked at the front desk and provided was we need. Really nice staff. Overall I would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore,Md.

hotel with Hawaiian character

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: everything was fine
Location: across the street to beach, & close to town
excellent hotel, the staff were friendly & helpful, clean facility & many amenities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Quaint, adorable, hotel, very friendly staff

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: The original art everywhere, it's location, and the staff (especially Joyce!)
Cons: We can't think of a single thing.
Location: There is convenient shopping and restaurants just across the street. The Bamboo restaurant serves a delicious breakfast and opens early.
This is a lovely, very artsy, well-located hotel just off the beach in Lihui Kauai. Our room was comfy, great shower, frosty AC, with a lovely deck and an ocean view. There is original art by island artist Camille Fontaine throughout the rooms and in the lobby. However, the best thing about our visit was our check in. Joyce was so gracious, welcoming and accommodating. She was so helpful. Our only regret was not staying longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hope to come again

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Friendly staff, welcoming and helpful Clean and comfortable room All that I needed was there for me Convenient location to the airport Great food truck and restaurants and souvenir shopping as well as a beach to walk on; all within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Lis, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed our hotel, our incredible staff, our location, and our complimentary amenities! Boooking direct with us helps us with our costs, and helps you get the room best suited for your needs and gives you flexibility with any changes to your rservation reservation . Our friendly proffesional staff is here to make your stay 5 star at our boutique hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Corner paradise

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The price, convenient location and friendliness
Location: It is next to the the Nawiliwili Bay for swimming, paddle boards and kayaks. It is near 2 shopping Centers and several restaurants
Staying here felt like Ohana, part of their family. The staff was helpful, kind and personal; making us feel like family. It is located next to food, shopping and transportation. Renovated, yet it retains the ambiance of Hawaii past.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Lis, Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for the wonderful review! We strive to create a tropical Hawaiian ambiance with all of our art, gardens, koi, and colors! We have just updated our photography to make using our web site for bookings more informative. Our friendly proffessional staff is here to help you make the best choice for room selection also. Booking direct helps with our costs, and keeps us able to provie great value to you. Look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Being a Kauai resident living quite far from Lihue where functions, airport etc. are, I've stayed at Garden Island Inn numerous times. I love the low key, none corporate feel and the friendly staff. The rooms are bright and happy with Camilles art work and the oceanview is icing on the cake. Plus....the price is affordable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Lis, Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you so much for your review! Glad we are your home away from home. It is good to check in and see Camile Fontaine's newest works of art. We are so fortunate to have her artistic flare throughout the hotel! Minoaka koa a koa (keep smiling). Book with us direct and help us stay affordable and our cost down. Mahalo,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

My family loved this hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2017
This was our first time in Kauai. My family and I had a blast! Especially the children. Perfect for them! Spacious and they always had treats available! If we come back to Kauai, we will do our best to stay here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Lis, Hotel Management
Aloha, so glad you enjoyed your family vacation on Kauai! Children are welcome at our hotel. They can use lots of beach gear from the lobby and enjoy Kalapaki Beach across from the hotel. We have lots of nice resturants to choose from too! Booking direct with us to ensure you get the best room suited for your needs. It helps our costs and keeps all the amenities complimentary. Mahalo for the3 5 star review