Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a gem for escaping the normal life

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
excellent place to escape the mundane world for romance, relaxation and inner peace. a gem next to the historical old town, easy access to the snow mountain, and excellent service and amenities. but food quality can be improved, don't have a good wine collections or cocktails.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Great hotel, location and service. We really enjoyed our stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Blue Skys

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful place and great hotel - perfect getawat location for blue skys, clear aire and culture
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San francisco

Beautiful property

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Definitely up to banyan tree standards. Expensive but worth the splurge.
5 out of 5
by june

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazingly Beautiful

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels
This is the best high end hotel I've ever stayed at. It's beautiful and makes you feel really special. The in-room dining BBQ is very fun. The only downsides are that the staff don't speak English very well, and that the hotel tours and treks are 3 times the price of what you'd get if you just negotiated with a local driver.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by MarcomLJ, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your very positive observations that you have shared and for choosing Banyan Tree Lijiang. We have taken note of your comments and shared them with our respective teams and while appreciating the positive experience that you have shared, we also seriously look and make initiate corrective action for any areas that we have failed to meet your expectations. We thank you again for the time taken and truly appreciate your feedback. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Minneapolis

Amazing View

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: The service was excellent. Everyone, even the service personal spoke English well. It was beautiful, a modern reinterpretation of traditional Chinese.
Cons: The hotel is 5-7 years old. I notices a few small areas that could use some freshening up: places where trim should be touched up or repainted.
Location: The location was excellent especially if you want to get away. And it was a short cab ride to Shuhur, one of the three 'old towns' in Lijiang.
The best part of the stay was waking up to the view of beautiful Jade Dragon Snow Mountain - virtually at the foot of the bed. I believe that all the suites in the hotel have this view.
4 out of 5
by James from US

clean room, decent staff, but a bit far

Posted May 7, 2013 on Hotels
hotel was very well maintained, in a spacious area with a spectacular view of the mountain. the room was very clean and spacious. the hotel staff was courteous but helpful. however, the bar hostess did not speak much english so it was a bit difficult to communicate. location is very far from city center so it's a hassle going in and out of the hotel to the city center. otherwise, a great place to find tranquility in an already tranquil city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Torunn from London, UK

Luxurious hotel in beautiful surroundings.

Posted Dec 4, 2012
Pros: Great staff, the spa, the comfort and location.
Location: Outside town, 20 minutes drive but not too far. Peaceful and beautiful.
Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Great spa with excellent messages. Friendly and most helpful staff. Distance to the rooms could be on the long side, it is a big resort. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Amazing Amazing Amazing!

Posted Oct 21, 2009
The best hotel with nicest service i have ever been to! It may be a little bit different if you cant speak chinese, as some of the personal cant speak that good english! But for me the stay was perfect! Dont take the normal room, go for a villa! The night was just beautiful. You can open up your bedroom, looking over your pool... The clouds, the plants, everything is moving. Plus you have a nice stereo system and i had an amazing cd in it! Try it, you wont regret!