Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CL

Hôtel calme et face à la gare

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Hôtel très bien,en face de la gare, les chambres sont propres, spacieuse et insonorise la salle de bain est très moderne (toilette dans la chambre et séparé de la salle de bain) Petite réserve sur le petit dej car je m'attendait à voir du vrai fromage et plus de pain au choco quand je suis arrivé :/ mais sinon c'est copieux
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Centrally located; good value

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location; breakfast
Location: Old Lille; the LAM Modern Art Museum is Villenuve d'Ascq is worth a visit
The Continental is often one of the cheaper hotels on Expedia, but despite that (and its very central location just 5 minutes' walk from the Eurostar terminal and a similar distance from the historic centre), it's perfectly acceptable. My room was quite spacious, clean and with a reasonably modern bathroom (albeit with a tub that is of Japanese style size). There was a large flat screen TV, internet access was a little patchy, but usable, and the bed was OK, though with sheet and blanket rather than a duvet. The included buffet breakfast (be careful, they may not realise it's been pre-paid) was excellent for the porice range, with a good range of pastries, juices, yoghurts, fresh bread, cheese/salami, apple puree, and a wide range of herbal teas as well as coffee. Although I was facing out across the station square, it wasn't too noisy (apart from an early morning street sweeper on Sunday morning).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Hotel pratique face à la gare

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Déçue par le standing présenté. Les chambres sont vieillissantes. Et le prix de la chambre apparaît onéreux pour les prestations. L'accueil du personnel relève un peu le niveau. Son emplacement reste commode face à la gare de Lille Flandre.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Continental breakfast

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Good, functional and well kept hotel usefully situated just opposite the main Lille Flandres station - which was useful as I needed to dash off to get my train there when I checked out! The breakfast was an extra charge added on to the room (and a continental - appropriately), but this was fair enough for me as I was on a budget visit (overnight). The only downside of the visit for me was that two fellow guests were chatting loudly at 5am after a busy Friday night, through the relatively thin walls of an old building.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

Klein en basic

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Een kleine kamer voor 2 peronen. Het bed vult de kamer. De badkamer is enorm klein. De wc plakt bijna tegen de deur en de douche. Je kan er geen stap verzetten. Er is geen airco en je kan best geen raam openen om de kamer te laten afkoelen.... Muggen komen massaal binnen. daar gaat de nachtrust! Er ontbijt was ook een tegenvaller. Geen personeel aanwezig om bij te vullen. Keuze uit mini koffiekoek, beschuit en harde cornflakes. Beleg: smeerkaas, choco en confiture. Het is basic en goedkoop maar zelfs dat geld nog koet waard! Enkel de ligging is goed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Deceiving on the web - stay away

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: location was good close to the heart of activity (but very noisy at 2am-3am)
Cons: everything (see initial comment)
Location: Location... close to the most amazing looking church/building i have ever seen in my life
Absolutely horrendous. Table fans only available, the tiniest bathroom/toilet I have ever seen. no fridge or any facilities anywhere in the entire hotel to even boil water. cockroaches in the room, balcony absolutely filthy with bird poo and not cleaned at all. if the windows left open, the people from the next room can get in as nothing stops people from moving to the next room from balcony. extremely hot and stuffy inside the rooms even when its fine outside. I would have been happy to give up the entire 5 day stay and move somewhere else if I could find another place at short notice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location very welcoming

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Wotif
Staff were excellent we do not speak French they were very good
2 out of 5
by Theresia

Hotel dicht bij trein station maar geen aanrader

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Kamer was last minute geboekt via hotels.com Ik kwam 'savonds laat met trein aan en hotel had mijn reservatie niet geregistreerd en ik kreeg de laatste kamer toegewezen die niet helemaal conform was aan wat geboekt was. Kamer was zeer warm en douche kop moet na gekeken worden. Ligging van hotel was praktisch - dicht bij trein station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by ADELAIDE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels