Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Customer service is non existent; they'll rip you off as will Expedia if you plans change.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you're on a tight budget, sure :)

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Most things appeared broken, like shower doors in the bathroom couldn't shut tight and the toilet paper holder was broken (They fixed it after a couple of days with some duct tape!). The light bar above the bed was very ... wonky... I was afraid it would fall in my face. The bed sheets were alright, but there was a burn hole from a cigarette in the blanket. The room is tiny, but it's okay, though! From my stay there, I'd say 1 of the 5 or 6 employees speak English. One of them didn't understand "31", the room number. I can live with that, but the last day we were checking out, the guy at the counter tried to have us pay 136 euros for what he said was "City Tax", which on the sign says 0.99 euros/day/person... And we didn't stay for more than 2 months ;), we stayed 5 nights. I convinced him he was wrong after a long long chat back and forth, but he didn't understand me very well. They keep the room clean it appears, but everything is so old and broken that you don't really notice it.
4 out of 5
by Beverley from Lincoln

Friendly if slightly down at heel

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely staff. The decor could do with updating (not on purely aesthetic grounds, my shower door fell off!), and I only had one power socket. However the room was adequate, and well cleaned and serviced. All the desk staff spoke brilliant English and were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Good Value

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: Cheap and cheerful and easy to get to.
Cons: It was fine
Location: big shopping centre
Its a budget hotel its clean and the staff were efficient. I paid £17 a night and got more than i expected. I was only there 3 nights to visit my daughter who is studying in Lille and it means i can visit her more ofter, If you want luxuary hotel, pay for one. Some of the reviews for this hotel where quite outrageous as it is a budget hotel and it was great value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't bother!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
After a long drive across from France the last thing you want is to be greeted by a rude receptionist! After actually being questioned over why we are in France if we can't speak french, she then couldn't understand why we couldn't hit Hotel Star on the barrier in order for her to raise it. And yet the words "Hotel Star" never appeared on the barrier! To sum up our experience we told her to cancel the booking & proceeded into the centre of Lille. After we parked the car we were extended a warm welcome at the Grand Hotel Lille!
1 out of 5
by Jojo from Dover

No Stars

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels
Nothing positive to say. Smelly, dirty, unpleasant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

handy as a cheap stop over

Posted Sep 20, 2012 on Hotels
nothing to add - does what it says on the tin
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by vrtak

Just for short stay

Posted Jun 10, 2012 on HotelClub
It has good location near metro station, free wifi, good breakfast, English speaking staff, on the other hand the room and bathroom don't look clean, you can feel the smell of cigarettes. Noisy in the evening.