Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location - very close to the centre

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Hotel staff were fabulous - always willing to help with queries or restaurant recommendations. Rooms were of a good standard - there were a couple of issues with a light bulb not working and the heater not working, but nothing that ruined the stay. Breakfast was very reasonable for €10 and there was always tables available. Location of the hotel was brilliant - very short walk to the centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect value for the modest money

Posted Oct 12, 2010
First thing first, we were stunned to discover how actually close the hotel was to the Lille Europe Eurostar train station. 5 minutes at the most. The hotel is undergoing the final refurbishment stage where accessories are added etc, but it looks great already, very modern and at the same time cozy. The reception is manned at all times, the staff are extremely efficient but non-english speaking. or maybe they do speak english there - i just didn't try english as I can speak a decent french myself. We asked them for things like city maps, additional cutlery etc, we even requested a cork screw which they didn't have but went and fetched for us at a hotel next door. The location is fab - 3 min away from Place de General de Gaulle and the Opera House; within a walking distance from major shopping streets. We are definitely coming back to it if in Lille again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

A Few Problems... But Easily Ignored

Posted Feb 6, 2009
I asked for a non-smoking room, and not only did my room stink of cigarettes, but there was an ashtray in it! There were a few other niggles too: the TV remote didn't work, I was given no 'Do not disturb' sign (although in the end I didn't need it, as the cleaners did not appear till after midday on the third floor where I was), and the thermostat on one of my radiators was broken, stuck at maximum - although I managed to fix this myself with a pencil! However, being a mild-mannered Englishman as well as a student with low expectations, I did not complain, and actually found a lot positive about this hotel. The room was comfortable and big (with a nice desk for working on, where I spent quite a bit of time), the bathroom was fairly large and the water was always hot, and the staff were unfailingly helpful (although I do speak French). The location worried me at first, as it's very close to a sex shop and a 'sex ckub,' as well as many cheap take-away places; but actually, it's literally five minutes from the Grand' Place, thirty seconds from Gare Lille-Flandres, and I never felt unsafe there walking around at night. All in all, a great hotel if you're not too fussy - if you are, perhaps you would have told them the complaints I had, and maybe they'd have sorted them out! But you get what you pay for, and for that price you really can't complain - or at least I couldn't!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Satisfied customer

Posted May 17, 2008
Clean rooms & friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Not Impressed

Posted Dec 19, 2007
Apart from the centrality this hotel had nothing to recommend it. From the moment we walked through the door to see chairs piled on tables and a lack lustre welcome, we did not feel comfortable. The room was small, the shower did not work properly. This was one of those horrible souless hotel where the staff do not really care whether you are there or not it did not even have the merit of being particularly cheap although it was not expensive. We have stayed at much better centrally situated hotels for the same or less money with breakfast and friendly service. We will not be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from oxford

Good value

Posted May 11, 2007
Rooms can be a bit small, otherwise hotel is very good. Very good central location, rooms clean, excellent value for money. One tip - go outside for breakfast. Their breakfast costs 7 euros. Go to Paul's on rue de Paris for a lovely breakfast, cheaper than the hotel and in the most fabulous building
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Enjoyable experience

Posted Apr 28, 2007
Good central position for exploring the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire UK

great location

Posted Jun 6, 2006
spotlessly clean hotel in quiet street very close to main station - easy walking distance - surrounded by choice of eating / drinking places - good value breakfast - able to leave luggage there all day after signing out
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Great Hotel, just what I was looking for.

Posted Apr 6, 2006
This hotel is perfect for a weekend break away with friends. Very close to the stations (so perfect for Eurostar), but just off the high street, so no traffic noise. Rooms were clean and well equiped, staff were pleasant and all spoke very good English. Whilst you may want more plush surroundings for a romantic getaway with your partner, for a more social weekend it serves well as a base to explore this great city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Check before you go

Posted Jan 25, 2006
The hotel, as basic as it is, has everything you need, including location. However, me and my girlfriend stayed in room 11, which backs onto an incredibly noisy small street where arab music was thumping very loud - tv?no use!- until 3am. Did not sleep much but its a good hotel.