Ratings based on 571 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good to be close to rail service

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Very hard travelling in Europe you don't get the same quality of Hotel. We left a night early because weren't happy with hotel or Lille, France, we'd gone for just a day tour and a quick look around Lille and wished we'd stayed in Ypres, Belgium instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penrith

Very Handy

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Very handy for train stations.
Cons: Ideal for my needs.
Location: I used the hotel when visiting the WW1 battlefields. Centrally located between the Somme and Ypres and only 1 hour train ride to Albert on the Somme.
The hotel is situated opposite Gare de Lille Flandres Station and only a short walk from Lille Europe. Have stayed her twice for a week each time. the rooms are on the small side but perfectly adequate. Ideal location as a base when travelling further afield each day.
4 out of 5
by Kathy

Great location

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very close to transport, Gare de Flandres was across the road, Lille Europe Eurostar stop is less than 10 mins walk away. Centre of town is about 5 mins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to Gare de Lille Europe and Gare Flanders.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The Hotel is close to the Eurostar Gare de Lille and the centre. It is an ideal location.
Cons: This is definitely a budget hotel though but it is clean and welcoming. Better access to tea and coffee, or a compliments tray in the room.
Location: The Gare de Lille Flanders is just across the road. The centre is a 10 minute walk away, which has plenty to look at and do.
I stayed at the Hotel Balladins Lille for one night in April. The Hotel Balladins was a really good deal and was just the basic requirement for a one night stopover. The Hotel appears to have been updated and previous reviews have highlighted that work has been carried out so this appears to have been an improvement to the Hotel. The Hotel is about a 10 minutes walk from the main Eurostar Terminal and directly opposite Lille Flanders station. The Hotel reception is staffed 24 hours and the staff on reception were all very friendly and helpful. For 4€ you can store your luggage in a locker, handy if you have any valuables but it's free in the reception area, so the choice is individual. This is helpful if you don't want to take luggage around Lille. It is about a 10 minutes walk to the centre of Lille and due to locality to the main areas the Hotel is an ideal location. The room l had was a decent size it was at the back so was quiet. It seems from reading other reviews the rooms at the front were much noisier. A good point is the internet connection which was very good and accessible on more than one device. Which in a previous hotel had been a problem. I would recommend this for a stopover of 1-2 nights. There were toiletries available a hairdryer, but no compliments tray which was a great shame, although there was a vending machine in the reception area. I didn't have breakfast but saw the breakfast room which has a lovely panorama over Lille.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel close to Train Stations

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location, Cleanliness, Staff
Cons: Lift being repaired all week & 7th floor breakfast area was being upgraded. Neither was made known to us prior to our visit.
Location: The Old Town is lovely but can be limiting for the whole week, so we had day trips to Bruges & Arras + Metro to St. Philibert Terminus & Lille Market
We really enjoyed our stay here. A Lovely hotel with excellent staff. Was also well located. Could easily get to Metro/SCNF as well as the Old Town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Good location next to train station

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Reasonable, clean, comfortable, basic hotel, nothing fancy, but good value.
Cons: Some better ventilation needed, both in rooms and in lobby ( somehow sewer gases were entering?)
Overall reasonable value. Very basic value-priced hotel in good location. Elevator was being repaired, so we did not have access to it. Bed linens being stored in corridor should have another location ( may be connected to elevator repairs?).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very close to station (Lille Flandres).

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Great location Lille is a shopping mecca if that's your thing. It's not ours.
Cons: I think once the renos are done they will be great
Location: 5 minute walk from the train station, 20 minute walk to Old town, lots of restaurants nearby.
We chose this hotel based on previous reviews and its location to the train station. After a bit of searching we located the hotel. Be advised to look closely for the signage LOL. Upon arrival we were told the hotel was undergoing renovation and that the lift was out of order. If we had been aware we may have not booked this hotel, but fortunately our rooms were on the 2nd floor. The renovation was actually taking place on our floor while we were there but was not very noticeable, (except when the workers banged on our door, they were extremely apologetic). Rooms were typically European small, but well laid out. Very quiet for the most part with a view overlooking the train station. Well located for walking and exploring Lille.
4 out of 5
by n

our stay at hotel Balladins Lille

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was really nice and the hotel was very good. It is located in a very convenient location, close to the rail stations and local attractions. The staff at the hotel.extremely friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

nice hotel in the centre of Lille

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: simple and comfortable hotel with very friendly staff
Cons: 2 chairs instead of 1 in a twin room would be great
Location: - location is perfect, train stations, local bus and underground stations nearby - walking distance from historical buildings, places and attractions
- clean room with daily service - good location - amenities nearby - safety boxes for luggages after check-out - very friendly and supportive staff at reception
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Close to the station and euralille shopping centre but also very close to the city centre. Bathroom was nice and shower was a good size. The room was also a good size, the bed was very low down which was odd but fine. However very little storage space! Our room over looked the gare de Lille Flandres which was lovely however was a little noisy, thought nothing too disturbing. Overall very pleased for the price paid.