Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap and clean, but not chic

Posted Oct 31, 2017
The outside of the hotel does not look great, with quite a few of the letters having fallen off the sign. Inside, the decor is a little dated, but as long as you don't mind not being fashionable, it is a great hotel. Very clean with comfortable beds, accommodating staff. The hotel is in a great location 5 minutes walk from eurostar/International trains, and just over the road from Lille Flanders station. We were at the front of the hotel but with the windows shut it was very quiet. Very central location for Lille, seconds from shops and squares, 10 minute talk to the old town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal Canada

Very Satisfy

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet and close to the train
Cons: Considering the price...its PK
Location: Perfect location
Cean Roon...good access to the Train and restaurant, I will take it again next time
2 out of 5
by Susan

Wish we had spent a little more someplace else

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Location was convenient for train station travel, but hotel was tired property. Beds were comfy, but no airco and 1 small fan in the room didn't work well. Hot night in noisy area-not suitable for families with young children.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A budget hotel.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The close proximity to Eurostar Europe and Gare de Flanders rail stations.
Cons: A compliments tray or better acces to tea and coffee. Better internet connection.
Location: The Hotel is an ideal location near the rail stations. It is also a short walk to the centre as well. There are plenty of things to do.
The Hotel Continental was a really good deal and was just the basic requirement for a one night stopover. Paying anymore and I would have been more unhappy with staying here. The Hotel is very antiquated and although there is a lift there is only room for one person and a suitcase, or two if you have no cases, but this was a novel experience. The Hotel is about a 10 minutes walk from the main Eurostar Terminal and directly opposite Lille Flanders station. The Hotel reception is staffed 24 hours and the staff on reception were all very friendly and they also stored our luggage for us before our train departure. It is about a 10 minutes walk to the centre of Lille and due to locality to the main areas the Hotel is an ideal location. The room we had was very small though and the internet connection wasn't very good. Only one of us could gain the access to this, so guess who lost that. I would only recommend this for a stopover. There were toiletries available a hairdryer, but no compliments tray which was a great shame. We didn't have breakfast as we wanted to make the most of our time in Lille. Our room was at the back other reviews seem to suggest that the rooms at the front are bigger. I can't really comment as l have nothing to compare with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice experience, centrally located

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The pictures shown was not a true representation of the room I had. The room was compact and washroom was very small but for the price was excellent. We opted for the breakfast which was continental as expected. The dinning area was small and seemed everyone wanted to go there at the same time that meant a wait for some people. So try get up early to avoid the rush. Located directly opposite was easy as we parked in the station car park and prebooked at €36 not through the hotel but online. The one downside being so close to the station and and vacant shop next door meant it was a congregating place for the homeless and beggars, not that they bother us but just seemed unsavoury and possibly intimidating for solo travellers. Overall excellent for the price and would definitely use again for a budget stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is perfect for a city break. Not the most luxurious hotel but you get what you pay for and it has everything you need as a necessity. The rooms are slightly noisy with pipes being a little loud. The continental breakfast at the hotel was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Centrally located; good value

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location; breakfast
Location: Old Lille; the LAM Modern Art Museum is Villenuve d'Ascq is worth a visit
The Continental is often one of the cheaper hotels on Expedia, but despite that (and its very central location just 5 minutes' walk from the Eurostar terminal and a similar distance from the historic centre), it's perfectly acceptable. My room was quite spacious, clean and with a reasonably modern bathroom (albeit with a tub that is of Japanese style size). There was a large flat screen TV, internet access was a little patchy, but usable, and the bed was OK, though with sheet and blanket rather than a duvet. The included buffet breakfast (be careful, they may not realise it's been pre-paid) was excellent for the porice range, with a good range of pastries, juices, yoghurts, fresh bread, cheese/salami, apple puree, and a wide range of herbal teas as well as coffee. Although I was facing out across the station square, it wasn't too noisy (apart from an early morning street sweeper on Sunday morning).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
The first room had a problem with the drains and smell was appalling. Told they had no other rooms, so wasted 1.5 hours trying to find an alternative, returned to get a refund, they wouldn't give us one said they had a different room this one was very shabby, leak from wash basin soaking the floor, and heating was on full pelt and couldn't adjust it, had to sleep with windows open all night, very noisy due to hotel position so had next to no sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Cheating - no Wi-Fi!

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Good enough location - but not safe!
Cons: Most - NO WI-FI!
Location: Good location - close to Gare Lille Europe.
Two stars - too much for this hotel! Maybe one... The staff promising that the internet will be fixed - never happened!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Continental breakfast

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Good, functional and well kept hotel usefully situated just opposite the main Lille Flandres station - which was useful as I needed to dash off to get my train there when I checked out! The breakfast was an extra charge added on to the room (and a continental - appropriately), but this was fair enough for me as I was on a budget visit (overnight). The only downside of the visit for me was that two fellow guests were chatting loudly at 5am after a busy Friday night, through the relatively thin walls of an old building.