Ratings based on 490 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Skiing weekend hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Very comfortable bed, effective shower, good breakfast, welcoming staff, free parking right outside and easy to walk out into the town to find a place
Cons: It could be modernised but actually I quite like the old-style "no fuss" charm.
Location: Great location in the town and easy to get to the out-of-town ski hills
For a skiing weekend this hotel was perfect and good value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

In the heart of Lillehammer

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Great room. Beautiful facilities. Excellent breakfast. Just over a block from the shops, restaurants, markets, and train station.
3 out of 5
by Kathryn

Clean but worn

Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
When we travel to Europe we prefer to stay in European hotels, usually small and family-owned, rather than large hotel chains based in the US. However, even with our experience with European hotels, we were surprised and dismayed by the poor condition of the First Hotel Breisuth. The carpets were threadbare and the furnishings were worn. It is clear that no infrastructure improvements have been made in a long time. However, the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and the hotel is very close to the train station and the main shopping area of town. The breakfast was also adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Nice hotel located in the center.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Excellent breakfast . Easy check in. The staff was friendly. We visited a sunday and monday. A lot of attractions were closed. Lillehammer is a nice city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sara

Tired but comfortable and friendly

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is a quaint, older hotel that would be spectacular if renovated. The furnishings were "tired," but the cleaning staff did a great job keeping everything picked up. The front desk staff and breakfast staff were helpful and efficient.
3 out of 5
by Cory

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Place!

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Across from train station was great. Wonderful breakfast.Tea service in room. Gave lunch to go. Free coffee all day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Breese, Ill USA

Good Place to Stay

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Location: Downtown was within easy walking distance. We visited the craft and other booths set up down the main street.
We were only here for one night on our way to Northern Sweden. This was a good hotel experience and not overpriced. Reception person was friendly and helpful, especially introducing us to a mechanical key card system. Would stay here again. The only downside was us sitting outside enjoying a bottle of wine that we had brought from Denmark and had not finished. The reception girl on duty at the time came out and told us that it was against the law in Norway to drink any alcohol not purchased on the premises. Of course, we were not aware of this. She said she was going to have to take it. There wasn't much left in the bottle so we just poured what was left and finished it.