Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S. RSA

It's ok

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Old hotel trying to survive by providing slight more services. Not bad boy not the best in town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: staff and room
Cons: some things are out of their control. The water supply us shirt in Lilongwe so water is sometimes an issue but I did not experience any issues this
Location: If you have time to go to Lake Malawi, it is worht the trip. The drive is beautiful. The people and things you see on the way are most interesting
The staff was great. The rooms have been updated since I was there last. They have very convenient switches next to your bed to control all lights in the room. Even better than most hotels in the use as far as that goes. The staff was extremely kind. The food was ok. better than most restaurants in Lilongwe for comparison. I have stayed at several hotels in Lilongwe and this is the best I have experienced there. I will come back and I will recommend to anyone.
2 out of 5
by Steven from Fountain Hills, Arizona

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The front desk staff at the hotel are generally very accommodating. The restaurant, Vincent, was very good. Otherwise the hotel was very dingy. The internet didn't work and I was told I had to pay, even though it says the internet should be free. The downstairs restaurant has miserable service. Generally the hotel is dingy, dark and in need of repair.
4 out of 5
by Alexandr from Toronto

Great hotel!

Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
It was grate stay. Very friendly and helpful staff.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south africa

Expensive

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Food, Internet, room amenities, executive lounge facilities, and reduce the rates
Location: Located close to capital hill. That's all. Good for business but nothing else.
Hotel not really improving much compared with the rates they charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2015
A place for a welcome break after a hard week's work
3 out of 5
by James from Phoenix, AZ

Expensive for what you get

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
I frequently travel to Malawi for business. This was the first time I have stayed at the Sunbird Capital. The rooms are tired and the location requires you to take a taxi for any shopping. The pool is nice and the restaurant food was a cut above many other hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Danny

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
Expensive bad service they charge you for a 5 star hotel but it is not even a 3 star if you Google you'll find much better hotels than the sunbird capital.
5 out of 5
by Llewellyn from Virginia USA

Great place to stay.....

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
Good place to stay very friendly staff and good location