Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by J N from Gauteng

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel needs a renovation urgently, especially the entrance, the fountain etc is outdated. The restaurant needs to be REVAMPED. The appliance of the hotel looks very tired and old. it needs tobe upgraded like the capital or Mt Souche.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was clean and friendly but required an upgrade. The buffet breakfast was great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would stay here again.

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed 2 nights at the Sunbird Lilongwe while on a business trip recently. I found the property to be well-taken care of, the staff friendly, and the few meals (2 breakfasts and one dinner) I had in the restaurant were fine, with a number of choices available. I did not go out in the area around the hotel, so I cannot comment on the neighbourhood.
3 out of 5
by Graham from London

As good as it gets

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is in beautiful grounds and looks attractive. Rooms and service acceptable but not top quality. Area is quiet and transport required to eat out.
4 out of 5
by GERY from Mauritius

Good price in Dec.

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Had a very good stay and thanks to the kindness of the staff. Apart Sometime too much noise in the corridor with the trolley , I've enjoyed it. And at that time the rate is very good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sunbird Lilongwe

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Standard hotel, nothing too special. Could use some updating.
4 out of 5
by Marilyn from Bristol

Good base for a stay in Malawi

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
We used the Sunbird Lilongwe as our base hotel, going from there to safaris and a trip to Lake Malawi. It was great for this, a lovely place to return to after our adventures. The gardens are so restful and extremely well kept. The staff are very professional, helpful and courteous. We ate in the hotel restaurant several times and found the food in the eveningto be pretty good. The breakfast was always very good, with a wide selection of options, including a good full English.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south africa

Not bad

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Food quality. Room facilities
Location: Location is really good
Hotel hasn't been renovated for a while. Food not good in terms of varieties and quality