Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Good location.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
We had a good time there. Although the room and bathroom had no air conditioner. The staff was very friendly and help us out with everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Room and bathroom were clean, staff very friendly, helpful and speak English, service very good. Great location in safe neighborhood, close to beautiful Love park on cliffs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Very small and we didn't like the room, it was smelly.
3 out of 5
by jim from Charlotte, NC

value and service

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
The two areas that sets this hotel apart is the service & value: 1) service: especially from Bruno, Gabriel, and Juan at the front desk. They, like everyone who serves you there, treat you as if Hostel Porta was a 5 star hotel -- which it isn't. 2) value: the hotel itself was OK, relatively speaking, but once you consider the price -- the value is excellent. You are in a fantastic location, there was always parking right out front or you can use the secure parking. You have a variety of touristy or local restaurants and each evening (during the Summer) it is a 3 minute walk to watch the sunset and surf. The 'continental breakfast' was only bread, jelly/butter, fresh juice and coffee.
4 out of 5
by Fang

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Brentyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Amy from Melbourne, Australia

Quirky, well kept old home

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at Hostal Porta as a medium sized business group and had a great experience. I think the reviews I read prior to the trip which best describe it are a "quirky" and "well kept old home". Overall this is what we were expecting and as such we were not disappointed. It has a lot of character which we appreciated! Breakfast was basic (coffee, tea, bread, jam and juice) but it was consistently served with a lot of love. The front desk was exceptionally helpful and the location is wonderful. Fantastic spot if you like to start the day with a walk or jog along the beach. Would recommend!
2 out of 5
by Tomislav

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Erika from Chicago, IL

Decent hostel

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was decent for the price we paid. The staff was very accommodating and the neighborhood is great. Room conditions were sketchy and beds slightly uncomfortable. Wifi ok. Breakfast was disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels