Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I'd stay away

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
The spookiest hotel experience ever.. Hotel is located in some ghost-townish neighborhood, inside of locked iron gate.. we thought we're being abducted and never see the sun. Well, that didn't happen but it felt like it. Room was not clean, you can hear everything being said in the lobby all night long.. spooky. They charge $10 each way for airport pick up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location close to the airport

Posted Oct 22, 2014
We stayed in this hostel overnight before leaving for Cusco early the next morning. The hostel staff were amazing, from the taxi drivers who picked us up, to the concierge who helped us store our surfboards and gear at the hostel free for a week, and the taxi driver who dropped our boards off to us at the airport. Overall, we were so impressed with the service they offered at this very basic hostel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ranjana from London

Comfortable and close to airport

Posted Jun 1, 2014
I booked the room for my son and his friend as they are travelling and had a late arrival into Lima and midday flight out again Their comments were that the hostal provided very good service. The staff were friendly. Nice room. Good wi-fi. Pick up-service from airport reliable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charles from London, UK

Reasonable hostales closeish to airport

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Good welcome, quiet hostales, reasonably close (10-15 minutes, more at rush hour in ferocious Limavtraffic) to airport
Cons: The whole hostales needs renovating, but, given the state of the Peruvian economy, this is unlikely to happen
Location: Poor locale - only it's nearness to the airport justifies staying there for one night only
Was well met on arrival by pleasant English speaking night staff at 00.30. Whole hotel was in need of refurbishment with the carpets worn. However it was clean and, most importantly, I had a comfortable bed with clean sheets in a quiet room. Typical Peruvian breakfast was adequate but was not served until 07.30, too late if one had an early flight. One tip always use the taxi service arranged by the hostales as , not only is it cheaper than the airport cabs, but the local taxi drivers have no idea where the hostales is! Overall this is a good choice for one night following a late flight or preceding an early one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Service

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Staff, shuttle service, breakfast, bedrooms and showers.
Cons: I don´t know.
Location: Location felt a little unsafe, not a lot to do nearby.
I stayed here for two nights and the staff and service was excellent. Our taxi shuttle to and from the airport was always on time and our driver was friendly. Unfortunately, as many other reviewers have noted, Hostel Victor is not in a very pretty neighborhood. That being said, it´s the perfect spot to stay if you have a long layover at LIM and just need a good nights rest. The showers have great pressure in them as well!
4 out of 5
by betsy from lima

basic/cheap overnight stay before destination

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels
staff was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The water went out while we were there but the staff allowed us to delay our checkout time until showers were available. WIFI was unavailable in our room but worked downstairs in the lobby or in the hall way (staff said a router was down and they were working on the problem). Room was clean and location was within walking distance to the bus station and mall. Breakfast was bread, jam, coffee, and hard boiled eggs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Other hostels more worth it

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Room was very mediocre for the price paid, and very out of the way- taxis had no idea where it was. Toilet in my room was broken for my entire 3 day stay and although I continuously asked for assistance in getting it fixed, they never helped out. There are other hostels in the area for the same price and much better conditions.
2 out of 5
by Mark from Miami, Fla

Just okay

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Staff tried to please.
Cons: Air conditioning so guests can close windows and sleep in comfort. More attention to cleaning the rooms.
Location: Didn't stay long enough to find out but that is no fault of the Hostal. Pretty seedy neighborhood.
The Hostal Victor is billed as close to the airport which was its attraction due to an early flight out the next morning. But it's not really close- maybe a 40 minute ride. They DID arrange for transport from the airport for our arrival. But once there, we learned of no air conditioning, hot water took forever, dogs barked and roosters crowed nearby all night. Also we felt it wasn't very clean. Staff IS pleasant enough. It will do if you aren't too demanding in creature (not to include dogs and roosters) comforts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pierre from France

Convenient for aiport transit

Posted Jan 28, 2014
No bad surprise. Excellent for spending a night or two between 2 flights if you gare not expecting a 5* hôtel. Péruviàn people are nice and staff very helpfull.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luis from Sydney, Australia

It's a pity that they don't accept credit card

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff...
Cons: They should think of accepting credit card payments...
Location: Close to the Airport
We were pleased with the service