Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional place

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Option to visit Victor Delfin's workshop in the morning.
Location: Barranco is also by far the most pleasant area of Lima, with a lot of bars and restaurants
This is one of the most exceptional places I have had the chance to stay at. I loved the hotel so much that I came back twice during my holiday in Peru. Historical house with a lot of character, great ocean view, stunning art, friendly and attentive service - it felt more like a staying with a family than at a hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Staying in an artistic showcase with ocean views

Posted Jan 14, 2016
We were made to feel very welcome indeed by Lilian, her brother Carlos and all the staff at Second Home. Breakfast was simple but delicious, the room and garden views over the ocean stunning and to be surrounded by the auperb art and sculpture of Victor Delfin, one of Peru's leading artists whose studio is just below the hotel was amazing. Victor is the father of the owners.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great home, great area which is walkable

Posted Dec 16, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed the home, the view, the artwork and the area. We walked all over and felt safe at all times. The breakfast was nice as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Une belle maison privée aux espaces généreux

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Endroit de rêve qui ressemble à une très belle maison privée où vous seriez un hôte privilégié
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Charming B/B with ocean views.

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Ocean views, comfortable bed, opportunity to view artist work and interact with owner family.
Location: a few very good neighborhood restaurants including Italian and Peruvian fusion.
What a pleasant surprise. Home of famous Lima artist which displays his work throughout. Attentive service and charming rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Close to restaurants, nice view over ocean

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Ocean view was relaxing
Location: Close to restaurants, supermarket, banks and pharmacy
We stayed here for 1 night and it was more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. The wooden floors and stairs are noisy and we felt like we had to tip toe around at night so as to not disturb other guests. We were glad to only stay one night. Breakfast was simple but nice in a pleasant outdoor setting. The view over the ocean is lovely. Hotel organised us a taxi to airport in a good taxi 25USD
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Quiet homey stay in bustling City

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Location: Isolina is two blocks away- amazing late lunch.
Lillian, the owner, was great to talk with and helped us plan our visit, understabnding our needs with 2 teenagers. We also were invited by Victor Delfin to visit his studio and see his work space. His Art surrounds the home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Incredible art experience but noisy

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Location: Baranco is a bit south of the far more touristy Miraflores with a sort of arroyo between that is difficult to cross on foot but cabs are cheap
The Good: Beautiful location on bluffs overlooking the sea, excellent attentive service, good breakfast cooked to order and served outside in the garden, art pieces literally everywhere in every nook and cranny of the house and garden, an opportunity to meet the artist Victor Delfin in his studio, gorgeous outdoor spaces/patios/verandas to relax, nicely decorated rooms throughout with high quality linens, rate was very affordable and included breakfast and free WiFi (and parking, I think, though we had no car) The Bad: Very, SO Noisy! You could hear every footstep throughout the house at all times of day and night, and the bell to open the front gate of the walled garden rings loudly and randomly. Bring earplugs! The bathrooms, while beautiful, are not terribly functional. The shower was literally a trickle if the temperature was raised above "Chill Me Now!", and the high sided clawfoot tub it drained into was so tall that it required the nimbleness of a vicuna to exit without serious injury (and I am a little over 5'6"", which is towering by Peruvian standards!) The Bottom Line: if you're an art lover, especially of the Picasso/ Miro/ Gaudi ilk, it's an opportunity not to be missed, and the physical beauty of the space is stunning. The staff is excellent and everyone goes out of their way to be helpful and gracious. If you can tolerate the plumbing and the noise (or wear earplugs), it's a great find. We would return if in Lima again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Superb

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Art art art
Cons: Nada
Location: Bridge of sighs Starbucks
Superb, full artsy, big room, bath, incredible breakfast, Nice location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Restful, superb setting

Posted Jul 1, 2015
We loved the place. Stay there. It's restful, and a great neighborhood. Fantastic sculptures and paintings at every turn. The hotel is in a terrific mansion on the Pacific. Read up on the history of the place. The only drawback is that, if you stay on the side closest to the entrance, you may hear the neighbors singing and playing trumpets late at night--but they're talented.