Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brentford

Nice hotel, close to centre & station

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Especially our hostess and the restaurant!!
Cons: The room lacked any bedside furniture e.g. bedside chair or lamp, and the toilet cum shower room was rather cramped.
Location: C-mine is well worth a visit, as is a match featuring the local football team. Pubs close-by had excellent range of beers, and friendly locals & staff
An excellent location in the centre of Genk. The hostess was very friendly and unfailingly helpful. Restaurant served very tasty Belgian, home-cooked food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by noke , Hotel Management
our excuses that you missed some furniture in the room ? Perhaps we could do something . Hopefully your travelling back home was ok , thank you very much for the nice compliments
5 out of 5
by Hugh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was a pleasant stay!

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very basic. The small toilet only has a sliding plastic door and as a result, the water would drip towards the carpet of the room. It does not have an elevator. They would change the towels daily but they would not clean the room. We booked a room with a balcony but there is did not find any balcony. The good points I see is the nice breakfast and its proximity to the center of town and the train and bus station. For the price and for a brief stay, it is good enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Nice hotel in genk

Posted May 9, 2016 on Wotif
Small family run hotel, chatty hosts, good breakfasts, clean tidy room - up a lot of stairs. Good location for central genk. Reasonable prices.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from Gorleston UK

Just perfect......

Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
I felt welcomed on arrival though it did take a little while for someone to see me as the receptionist also appeared to be the waitress, barmaid and possibly the cook also (the last one is a joke)in the restaurant. And as I had to wait (only a few minutes) I was offered a free drink. My room was on the top floor which was no problem for me. But could be a problem as it was up several sets of stairs with some being very narrow.I was given a hand to carry my bags by the 'porter' who was also the receptionist,etc.But she kept smiling, explained the wi-fi access to me (which I got wrong and went and bugged her about)and breakfast. The room was a reasonable size and the bed comfortable. Though I do not like European pillows very much. The room was a bit 'falling apart' in places but it was very clean which is more important to me. It was ideal for what I needed and I did not expect The Ritz at the price I paid so therefore 5/5 for value. And then there was breakfast thrown in. All you can eat and with 7 hours standing in the cold and rain to look forward too that was much appreciated. So, would I recommend the hotel. Yes. Most definitely. Don't expect pure luxury. But as someone to eat and sleep at a great price it is perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by noke und laurent, Hotel Management
thank you for the nice comment .It feels good . Alway's welcome
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cosy and friendly

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great hosts, very kind. Very cosy and frinedly bar and restaurant.
4 out of 5
by Anthony from Sunderland

An unbiased opinion

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
If you want run-of-the-mill, don't choose Hotel 't Hert! But if you like a warm welcome from friendly hosts, an excellent free breakfast and a superb evening menu at a very good price, then you wont be disappointed. Be wary of shallow tread stairs with low headroom! Fairly quiet, considering centre of town location. Room clean and train/bus/cycle-hire station 5 minutes walk. Amazing cycling/walking in National Forest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little Gem!

Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with wonderful friendly hosts. Couldn't fault their helpfulness and food. Hotel a little bit tired but quirky. Only suggestion would be to revamp the showers. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Chippenham, England

Great value for money hotel in Genk

Posted Jun 22, 2013
Pros: Breakfast, free wi-fi, free parking overnight, tea and coffee making equipment in the room
Cons: It is old and a little tatty at the edges but I still had a great nights sleep
Location: In the centre of Genk down a small side street, easy to get to and find. Street parking available for free overnight
This Hotel is an old hotel in the middle of Genk. I was looking for a low cost Hotel for one night with free wi-fi. This Hotel is in an old building and is shared with a bar and restaurant. I was able to park outside for free overnight. I would rate it as a UK 2 star, the staff are pleasant and helpful, there is a good breakfast, it is impeccably clean and met my needs perfectly. Great Value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Riga, Latvia

Unusual but delightful hotel experience

Posted Oct 3, 2012
Location: Located in the center of the small town of Genk...prime location if visiting this town.
Staff was great in helping me find a way to get there from about 40km away. They were equally helpful the next day in providing a train schedule for me. Very quaint place, owners/managers multi-lingual and their dog carries your key to the room...indeed the place has some serious ambiance! And they provided an outstanding breakfast!!