Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fawlty Towers on the Shannon

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
A beautiful view over the river Shannon but this is no country house hotel; it's a holiday village. We arrived to be told we would have to eat in the bar. Eventually they agreed to "squeeze" us into the restaurant which turned out to be almost empty. Faulty lock on the door, heating which didn't work, a shower too low to stand upright under, a kettle with so short a flex it had to be put on the floor. If thoughtful touches make a great hotel, Castle Oaks had myriad touches of thoughtless touches.
5 out of 5
by monique p.


Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Ebookers
fabulous as always. never disappointed. thank you again Castleoaks
4 out of 5
by Del

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Pam from kildare

Great Location, a little dated...

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed for a family wedding, initial impressions of grounds were lovely, and hotel was quaint, however the room was a little outdated, very warm with no air con, bathroom was not completely clean with some mould in shower, and drain was stuffed so water didn't flow quickly. Furniture was old, but in keeping with the era of hotel. Room was quite expensive for what you get, and my room was overlooking the function room which was very noisy which made sleep impossible if you wanted to retire early, well if you call 1am early.. overall staff were polite and nice and food at the function was good, they also cater for coeliac which is good. I didn't have breakfast so can't comment. They have leisure facilities which i didnt try out unfortunately.. not sure I would stay again.
5 out of 5
by aakk

lovely country style getaway

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Ebookers
lovely friendly staff, beautiful garden on the hotel grounds that you can take long walks or relax ,have to give compliments to the chef as the dinner was divine as was the breakfast the next day overall a lovely place to stay only one problem with the hotel was no information pack left in the room for times of breakfast and etc
5 out of 5
by Ann from UK

Absolutely lovely

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels
We had a really lovely stay. The hotel is absolutely lovely. The building itself really is as nice as the pictures suggest - beautiful sweeping staircase, lovely open fire etc. The grounds looked really inviting. Often you see pictures of a hotel suggesting rural walks, but when you get there you see only narrow roads that you wouldn't be safe walking on. Here in contrast really does have its own spacious grounds, not to mention the river ... I am already planning a return trip - and plan to make it much longer in duration.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by julie from kent

close to family we were visiting

Posted Apr 12, 2013 on Hotels
fantastic location next to river, reasonable food, were upgraded to a suite which was in another building to the main hotel. Lots of space, but shower water pressure was hopeless, forget washing your hair.
2 out of 5
by Tom from London

Once upon a time a great house...

Posted Apr 4, 2013 on Hotels
I have used Castle Oaks since 1990. It is by the river and great scenery. Unlike one of big chains it has a personal touch. However, the main house is in need of desperate modernization especially the bathroom. the fact every footsteps on the corridor can be heard is also a disturbance. hot water system needs updating so it does not become cold shower half way through. As for breakfast we needed to wait for 15 minutes as it was busy. Its a tough time for all Irish business I know but this hotel which was once praised and recommended by the Japanese ambassador (reason for the first time visit) is quickly becoming a cheap "motel" type. A real pity...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok not great but not terrible

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Our stay for 2 adults and 2 children was in one of the garden suites (room415), disappointed in the rooms - one room was clearly for disabled visitors with an adapted ensuite bathroom. I fully appreciate the need for hotels to supply this type of room but a shower head that will not go higher than 5 feet above the floor level is no good to a 6ft tall man. This bathroom also had cobwebs hanging from one of the walls and whilst not dirty had a tired feel and definitely not sparkling. The same just ok quality applied to the other rooms - they really need a good deep clean and redecoration. The sofas in the living room area are particularly uncomfortable, TVs are small and gave a poor selection of channels. We ate for one evening meal in the bar; quality of the food wasn't great - just a standard burger and chips but service was good. However it was very expensive - over 100 euro for 2 courses for 4 people with only 1 glass of wine and 1 pint of beer is excessive. Needless to say we didn't eat there the second night. Overall the phrase 'just ok' sums the whole place up, if returning to the Limerick area we will choose a different hotel.