Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kerry

Nice Family Hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Lovely family suite. Pity there was no cooking facilities
4 out of 5
by Mary

Mary from Ballina

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed for one night so could not sample all that the Castle Oaks had to offer. The grounds have beautiful walks and gardens. It is an beautiful Old Country House, very comfortable and clean and the staff are very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fawlty Towers on the Shannon

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
A beautiful view over the river Shannon but this is no country house hotel; it's a holiday village. We arrived to be told we would have to eat in the bar. Eventually they agreed to "squeeze" us into the restaurant which turned out to be almost empty. Faulty lock on the door, heating which didn't work, a shower too low to stand upright under, a kettle with so short a flex it had to be put on the floor. If thoughtful touches make a great hotel, Castle Oaks had myriad touches of thoughtless touches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by monique p.

paradise

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Ebookers
fabulous as always. never disappointed. thank you again Castleoaks
4 out of 5
by Del

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Pam from kildare

Great Location, a little dated...

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed for a family wedding, initial impressions of grounds were lovely, and hotel was quaint, however the room was a little outdated, very warm with no air con, bathroom was not completely clean with some mould in shower, and drain was stuffed so water didn't flow quickly. Furniture was old, but in keeping with the era of hotel. Room was quite expensive for what you get, and my room was overlooking the function room which was very noisy which made sleep impossible if you wanted to retire early, well if you call 1am early.. overall staff were polite and nice and food at the function was good, they also cater for coeliac which is good. I didn't have breakfast so can't comment. They have leisure facilities which i didnt try out unfortunately.. not sure I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by aakk

lovely country style getaway

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Ebookers
lovely friendly staff, beautiful garden on the hotel grounds that you can take long walks or relax ,have to give compliments to the chef as the dinner was divine as was the breakfast the next day overall a lovely place to stay only one problem with the hotel was no information pack left in the room for times of breakfast and etc
5 out of 5
by Ann from UK

Absolutely lovely

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels
We had a really lovely stay. The hotel is absolutely lovely. The building itself really is as nice as the pictures suggest - beautiful sweeping staircase, lovely open fire etc. The grounds looked really inviting. Often you see pictures of a hotel suggesting rural walks, but when you get there you see only narrow roads that you wouldn't be safe walking on. Here in contrast really does have its own spacious grounds, not to mention the river ... I am already planning a return trip - and plan to make it much longer in duration.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by julie from kent

close to family we were visiting

Posted Apr 12, 2013 on Hotels
fantastic location next to river, reasonable food, were upgraded to a suite which was in another building to the main hotel. Lots of space, but shower water pressure was hopeless, forget washing your hair.