Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Time to reflect and relax

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: What is there not to like
Cons: The length of your stay
Location: The local bars, shops the castle not to forget a boat ride on the famous Shannon river
I have stayed at this hotel before and the enjoyment gets better every time, the staff are more like family always happy and pleased to see you
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Pat Reddan, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Pat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Londonderry NH

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Very comfortable accommodations, the pool and Jacuzzi were nice (but closed too early), and the restaurant and bar were great. We arrived just prior to the ex-hurricane, so the Clayton was a wonderful place to weather the storm! Great location...we were able to walk to most Limerick must-see locations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Pat Reddan, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Pat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

In a lovely location on the river.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The layout of the rooms. It had everything.
Cons: The lack of car parkiing is a major drawback. Hotel has an arrangement with a car park but it closed at 10.00 pm so we had to feed a meter overnight.
Beautiful hotel. Very spacious rooms overlooking the Shannon. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Pat Reddan, Hotel Management
Dear Kitty, Thank you for your lovely review. Hotel residents have access to the car park 24/7. I am sorry if this was not explained to you at check in. Kind Regards, Pat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qualicum Beach

Not a tourism community

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Staff and our view from the room provided.
We specifically went to Limerick to find family history. We hired a cab with the recommendation of the hotel and went into the countryside in search of history. We were successful and really enjoyed our day. Limerick does not appear to be a tourism spot. Hotel staff were very helpful and the room we were provided was fantastic. We were on the 9th floor overlooking the Shannon River. Great view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Pat Reddan, Hotel Management
Dear Laurie, Thank you for the positive review of my hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a pity that you did not get the chance to explore Limerick City and surrounding area as King John's Castle, The Hunt Museum, Bunratty Castle and St Marys Cathedra, to name but a few,l are all super places to visit. Hopefully you will get to return and visit these great attractions. Kind Regards Pat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flordia

Best anniversary ever!

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Everyone at the Clayton was so polite and accommodating. Our stay was perfect. The views were amazing and it was only a short walk to anywhere we wanted to go. We will definitely be back again next year. Absolutely loved this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Pat Reddan , Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for your lovely review. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Pat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts, U.S.

Beautiful spot!

Posted Oct 1, 2017
I loved the location, view and the decor of the hotel. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We had a drink in the reataurant overlooking the river. We also enjoyed breakfast the day we left. Will stay there again while visiting Ireland.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would never stay there even if someone try to pay

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Me and my husband we are over 10years working in one Of The biggest hospitality and cleaning companies in Ireland. So rood,disrespecfull,at 0 manners places I seen first time. I went with my husband relax,it was my husbands birthday I went downstairs evening time to ask if I can buy coke he actually looked at me from top to bottom,i was wearing nothing fancy but comfortable. No Good morning,no good evening,no thank you not even welcome. Restaurant,so nice guys are working,loved them,they mixed up my husbands order but it didn't matter,we are all humans and they apoolagies 50x times. Good guys they should work at front Of The house just to show how you use your manners. Manager contacted me with apologies that he is not in hotel at min but he will contact his deputy but no one get back to me. Would never visit this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Close to the centre but a bit tired

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Reasonably close to the centre, but the rooms were a bit tired and needed work
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Pat Reddan , Hotel Management
Dear R&M, I am delighted to let you know that we have recently completed a full refurbishment of our ground floor. Hopefully you will give us the chance to showcase our new offering. Kind Regards Pat
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Hotel was nice. Location was great. Food was good. Staff were as a whole not great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Staff seemed rude. Traffic was a hassle and Restaurant was disappointing and staff was uninterested in providing a good experience. If your looking for a nice place to stay that is clean, it's great. Anything more than a night sleep it's weak.