Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN USA

Perfect for a week-long stay!

Posted Jan 25, 2016
We stayed here for a week to travel around and attend a graduation at UL (just down the road). It was clean, the staff were so friendly, and the rooms were wonderful! They are in the middle of updating the hotel, but that didn't interfere with our stay at all. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to UL

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Had a great dinner at the restaurant Close to the bus Grocerie Stores in walking distance
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States

Disappointing

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Cons: Clean. Post updated images. This hotel is very old and in need of updating.
Location: I would recommend staying closer to the center of the city. You'll need a car/taxi to get anywhere from this hotel.
After viewing the images online and reading some reviews, we decided to stay at the Kilmurry for our short holiday this weekend. Upon arrival, our room smelled heavily of smoke, despite the hotel's "No Smoking" policy. We told the employee at the front desk because we were worried that we would be charged 100 Euro for smoking in the room. She said she'd send someone to "spray the room"--no one came. The carpet was very stained and dirty. The lights flickered a lot every time you turned them on (enough that we worried about an electrical problem). One of the bedside lights didn't work at all. Our room was right by an exit door, so it was also a high-traffic area and the hotel guests (a large group of cheerleaders and their families) were loud past midnight. To top that all off, the toilet didn't flush well. The last straw was that our heating unit apparently was not responsive to being turned down, because we just about died from heat all weekend. It was SO hot and nothing we did to the thermostat on the unit seemed to matter. We couldn't open the windows as we were ground floor, and since there was no sheet to cover up with (only a very thick comforter), we basically just roasted all night. So much for a romantic vacation without kids for my husband and I. The staff were helpful as far as calling taxis for us, but otherwise weren't friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Handicapped room, sink was small but room good.

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Beautiful vintage look though it is a modern hotel. The food was great and the manager was fun.
Cons: Sink in handicapped room could be a little larger.
Location: I was in Ireland on business so we did not do much outside of the hotel. There is a mall across the street and several restaurants.
We arrived at the Kilmurry shortly before 7 AM. Roy checked us in - he was great! My husband forgot part of his computer charger and Roy loaned us his personal cord for the week. My husband uses a CPAP. We brought his from NC, had the electrical adapter but the machine broke shortly after we checked in. Bernie, an employee at the front desk, tried to find someone who could repair the machine. When that did not work out she found a local company that rented CPAPs. We did not know the proper codes to use the phone in Ireland so one of the employees let us use her personal phone to set up the rental. My husband then had to get a prescription emailed to Ireland for the CPAP rental company. Bernie had the doctor's office email the prescription to the Kilmurry then send it over to the rental place. Michael had a CPAP set up in the room around 7 PM. We left the CPAP with Maggie (another front desk employee) when we checked out. She emailed me when the machine was picked up by the rental company. I know that this is what a good staff is SUPPOSED to do, what impressed was how gracious and helpful the employees were - they seemed to truly care. Bernie asked how my husband was doing through the week and Roy would crack jokes with us. This makes the Kilmurry seem very welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Beautiful place to stay

Posted Nov 17, 2015
I was visiting my daughter while she was on a study abroad semester at the university of limerick. We both stayed here for 10 nights. The hotel was very nice. The staff allowed me to get into my room at 9 am after arriving on an overnight international flight even though check in wasn't supposed to be until 3 pm. The food in the pub was fantastic and very reasonably priced. Everyone there was so accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Hjälpsam personal

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
Mysigt bra traditionellt ställe. Personalen mycket hjälpsamma och vänliga ! Bra mat i den tillhörande puben.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jennifer from Milwaukee, WI

Close to campus and easy to get to city centre.

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
We loved this place! It is right on the bus route between campus and city centre so we took the bus a lot. Nice rooms, extremely helpful staff and good food. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Walked to campus easily. A few restaurants in the neighborhood but the hotel food was good. This was a great find and a very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patricia

Fabulous and relaxing

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed last Saturday before the mini marathon. Great hotel and location was just perfect. Needed a quiet night, cinema a 10 min walk away and in hotel was great to sit down and have a relaxing drink and some food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Derek from Greystones

Plesant

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay, especially liked the food in the bar.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Stephen from Cork

Not good.

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Not happy, I was asked for payment before I even got my key, which mean I paid for a service I hadn't yet received. And then had to pay for my breakfast on check out which was supposed to be complimentary. Plus the attitude of the receptionist could do with learning some matters. Won't ever stay there again..