Ratings based on 855 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

within walking distance to everything

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Very comfortable beds and pillows and within walking distance to everything. nice view outside of our room looking over the water. staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Highlands Ranch, Co

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness, friendly prfofessionall staff and great location. Very close to Shannon Airport - about 30 minutes.
Location: Close to Shannon Airport. King John's Castle is a short walk away as is St. Mary's Cathedral. Great, restaurants and pub are close, too.
My husband, daughter and I recently stayed at the Limerick Strand Hotel. Very lovely and clean hotel. The hotel staff are friendly, courteous and very helpful in providing information on sightseeing and setting up day trips. We went on a day trip to see the magnificent Cliffs of Moher. The tour company picked us right up at our hotel. Very convenient. Also took a 30 minute taxi ride over to the charming village of Adare. The town of Limerick is charming to stroll around, too. The Strand offers a very nice break- fast buffet and also has another very nice restaurant and bar for lunch and dinner that has a grand piano, which our daugter, who is 18 and a professional pianist, played. A stay at the Limerick Strand is simply grand!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Room Breakfast Restaurant
Cons: Noise from Disco on a Friday night, having paid good money for a lovely room we shouldn't have had to endure this noise.
Location: Location perfect, few minutes walk to town centre. St. John's Castle well worth the visit. Cliffs of Moher via Barratts Tours with Frank, superb.
We thourougly enjoyed our stay at Strand Hotel, we booked a Junior Suite, it was a huge room with lovely enclosed balcony overlooking The Shannon. Breakfast was superb, best we had in Ireland! We also dined in the hotel Restaurant and the food was stunning. Just one small criticism, we were on the 5th floor and directly above us on the 6th floor there was disco on just the Friday night, very noisy night but it didn't spoil our overall stay. We would book again with no hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gambrills, Md.

Great hotel and great location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location and upscale hotel.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Nice location right on the canal which had a nice view. Restaurants, pubs, and shopping were right there. You can walk to everything.
Hotel was very nice in décor and was right next to the canal which had a nice view. Very spacious rooms. Comfy beds and pillows which was very nice when traveling. Location was great. Close to all you would want. Pubs, shopping, and great restaurants were right there. The dining and bar area was very nice in the hotel. Good food too. All around a very nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Within walking distance of many attractions and shopping district. Many good pubs in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Unfriendly check in and overall less than stellar hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Lovely hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: We loved the location and really enjoyed the lounge that had nibbles through the day and enough for a light breakfast in the morning.
Cons: The lounge could do with a bit more regular checking by the staff as it became a bit messy and the coffee machine regularly ran out of water and coffe
We stayed only one night but enjoyed the location along a lovely river walk. Our room gave us access to a lounge which was great for visiting with our travelling companions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel - walkable to many sights.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
First day there it poured rain so we stayed in for the whole day. We spent a few hours at the Pub then went back to the room and after showering went down to the River restaurant where we had a delicious dinner and a bottle of wine. The next day, weather cooperating, we headed out after eating breakfast to see King John's Castle and St Mary's Cathedral as well as St John's Catholic Church. Went out for dinner that evening at Curragower - a restaurant recommended by a "local." It was a wonderful 2 day stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Limerick

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Our fight was delayed by 24 hours. We had already paid for our room and were expecting it to be ready when we got there. They gave it to someone else. We had to wait hours for another one to be readied. The hallway carpets really need to be cleaned too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, FL

Great hotel, great location.

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The facilities. Room comfort
Location: Centrally located.
We chose this hotel based on the ratings and we were not disappointed. After hiking for 6 days all over Ireland we really enjoyed the hot tub and steam room. The buffet breakfast was delicious. The staff was friendly and very helpful.