Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Very nice hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2017
A few miles out of the centre of town but very comfortable and great staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, California

Not worth the $$

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: location
Paid >200 USD / night for the room. The rooms are of bad quality, bathrooms leak and the overall cleanliness is of a very low quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Nice and easy

Posted Oct 27, 2017
It was a great stay, however there is a lack of disabled parking spaces.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stdney

Nice Hotel and lovely pool

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Great time here on our holiday through Ireland..... very nice breakfast and very nice pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Top stay

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Great helpful staff. Spa was great. Restaurant had great evening meals, buffet style breakfast. Pub was fun in the evenings. Would stay here again. Rooms were clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Dear Ken, Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business. Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not close to anything

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Disappointing. Stayed at radisson blu before elsewhere it was nothing a like. Most staff genuinely nice. The room had some maintenance issues and the bar tender spilled 3 beers on me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was disappointed to read that there were aspects of your stay that did not reach our usual high standard. I would be happy to discuss these aspects with you if you would care to contact me directly at the hotel. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Steamboat Springs, CO

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Check in was a little harried as a wedding party was having a great time in the lobby. The room and people were very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Dear Ton, Thank you for your 4 star review of your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great staff, needs some updating

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Our family of 4 only stayed here one night. Staff were exceptional, including front desk, maintenance, and the breakfast staff. Our teens enjoyed the pool/hot tub. The room was comfortable and clean. Observed many areas were wallpaper was peeling, or there was minor damage to walls/doors. The hotel clearly needs some updating, but I found everything in the room to be functional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Dear DB, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay.We do have a maintenance schedule in place for the winter months after a busy season so hopefully any outstanding maintenance issues will be addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hotel and spa away from town

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Lobby.
Cons: everything else
Location: Far from the city.
Industrialized style hotel without character. Friendly staff but not making enough difference. Bedsheets and towels clean, but pillows and matrasses are not and no amount of air freshner applied to it during the room cleaning can remove the stale smell that pervades the hotel and rooms. Small, cluttered rooms for sleep only. Dinner (four different meals) was not tasty. Pool closed in the evening (we checked in around 8:30 pm).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Corporate Customer Care , Hotel Management
Dear Zoran, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We would like to apologize you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room and that you were unable to enjoy your stay due to an unpleasant smell. We are sorry to see that the food and beverages selections was not to your taste either. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Somewhat overpriced! Could improve in places

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Restaurant was nice. Treatments were very good.
Cons: Have a look at areas where dust & cobwebs can collect! And charging 13.50 for nachos on room service is pure robbery. They were clearly frozen mince!
Hi, Stayed in the hotel recently and had gotten a last minute deal through a website. 174 for a room only rate was overpriced from my opinion for the standard of the hotel! Had booked spa treatments- in my treatment room, I lay on the bed and put my face through the hole and could see the floor was covered in someone's previous mask or body scrub. This would be the first place that should be cleaned as it's the only place the client is looking at! Also, in the Jasmine room, there were cobwebs in the window and cobwebs in the relaxation room up at the curtains- am I being fussy?? Yes. However these are the things that people expect to be up to standard!Lunch in the restaurant was overpriced and lacked imagination. There were also dead lillies in the bar that needed to be removed- again attention to detail. We ordered room service, a chicken sandwich and a heel of bread, torn chicken (no butter), half an onion and red pepper cut up arrived... we couldn't eat it and how someone things a heel of bread is acceptable in a hotel needs to be spoken to!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. I would be grateful if you could contact me at the hotel as I would like to speak with you regarding your experience. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager