Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not close to anything

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Disappointing. Stayed at radisson blu before elsewhere it was nothing a like. Most staff genuinely nice. The room had some maintenance issues and the bar tender spilled 3 beers on me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was disappointed to read that there were aspects of your stay that did not reach our usual high standard. I would be happy to discuss these aspects with you if you would care to contact me directly at the hotel. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Steamboat Springs, CO

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Check in was a little harried as a wedding party was having a great time in the lobby. The room and people were very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Dear Ton, Thank you for your 4 star review of your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great staff, needs some updating

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Our family of 4 only stayed here one night. Staff were exceptional, including front desk, maintenance, and the breakfast staff. Our teens enjoyed the pool/hot tub. The room was comfortable and clean. Observed many areas were wallpaper was peeling, or there was minor damage to walls/doors. The hotel clearly needs some updating, but I found everything in the room to be functional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Dear DB, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay.We do have a maintenance schedule in place for the winter months after a busy season so hopefully any outstanding maintenance issues will be addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hotel and spa away from town

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Lobby.
Cons: everything else
Location: Far from the city.
Industrialized style hotel without character. Friendly staff but not making enough difference. Bedsheets and towels clean, but pillows and matrasses are not and no amount of air freshner applied to it during the room cleaning can remove the stale smell that pervades the hotel and rooms. Small, cluttered rooms for sleep only. Dinner (four different meals) was not tasty. Pool closed in the evening (we checked in around 8:30 pm).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Corporate Customer Care , Hotel Management
Dear Zoran, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We would like to apologize you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room and that you were unable to enjoy your stay due to an unpleasant smell. We are sorry to see that the food and beverages selections was not to your taste either. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Somewhat overpriced! Could improve in places

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Restaurant was nice. Treatments were very good.
Cons: Have a look at areas where dust & cobwebs can collect! And charging 13.50 for nachos on room service is pure robbery. They were clearly frozen mince!
Hi, Stayed in the hotel recently and had gotten a last minute deal through a website. 174 for a room only rate was overpriced from my opinion for the standard of the hotel! Had booked spa treatments- in my treatment room, I lay on the bed and put my face through the hole and could see the floor was covered in someone's previous mask or body scrub. This would be the first place that should be cleaned as it's the only place the client is looking at! Also, in the Jasmine room, there were cobwebs in the window and cobwebs in the relaxation room up at the curtains- am I being fussy?? Yes. However these are the things that people expect to be up to standard!Lunch in the restaurant was overpriced and lacked imagination. There were also dead lillies in the bar that needed to be removed- again attention to detail. We ordered room service, a chicken sandwich and a heel of bread, torn chicken (no butter), half an onion and red pepper cut up arrived... we couldn't eat it and how someone things a heel of bread is acceptable in a hotel needs to be spoken to!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. I would be grateful if you could contact me at the hotel as I would like to speak with you regarding your experience. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio and Florida

Ramada should be ashamed

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: See above
Location: The location proximity was excellent for the hotel and town. That is why we choose it. However, I could not and would not recommend to anyone
The hotel is in poor condition. Room Carpets worn, bathroom moldy and the bath shower/tub was cracked and the caulking was moldy. The dining experience was just as bad and the manger waived the food charge. Mayby because they cater to families with children they don't cair. But I have stayed in many Ramada's, but this was terrrible. Ramada corporate should be ashamed to have their name associated with such a property!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Dear Ed & Jeannie, I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at the hotel to discuss in more detail your feedback. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MICH

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Excellent front desk and service.....friendly service and care.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I have shared your feedback with our front office team. We do hope that you return to visit us soon. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
fantastic room in a really lovely hotel, a bit far out of limerick city but was really quiet which was a bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick. We look forward to your next visit to the hotel. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Dusty

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: NA
Cons: Try dusting
Location: not much to do nearby, plenty to go see if you have a car.
My child was in Ireland with me for several days and not until we arrived in your hotel did she suffer allergies. She is allergic to dust and her nose told us there was plenty of dust in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Dear Ed, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your bedroom. I will follow up with our housekeeping manager as this is far from the standard that we expect. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dublin

Fab hotel just outside the city

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Booked this hotel last minute for the weekend for myself my daughter and two grandchildren wow is what i can say ....the hotel.is set on lovely grounds we chatted to some staff members the girls in the bar they were so friendly and went out there way to do anything for you ....this hotel is excellent for family's my granddaughter is 10 and went to the kids club on the Saturday evening from 5 to 9 which she loved they also provided her with a meal free of charge in the kids club leisure centre was great to use both mornings ....great selection of different food options for breakfast overall I would highly recommend this hotel for family's we all had a fantastic time and hope to return soon .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Eoin C, Hotel Management
Dear J, Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.We were delighted to read that both you and your grandchildren had such a pleasant stay with us. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards Eoin Chambers Senior Assistant Manager