Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Alistair

Scotland

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and tidy, welcoming good breakfast all at an excellent price well worth a visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lincoln stay

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast : could have done with more marmalade and yoghurt for breakfast. Bus stop right outside for Lincoln Well placed at edge of Lincoln to visit elsewhere
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by David, Hotel Management
There were 12 pots of homemade yogurt out on display the morning you mention 6 plain and six fruit all fresh made and sitting there for you Jars of marmalade were behind you on the welsh dresser to help oneself from from the "self service buffet"
5 out of 5
by David

One of our best stays

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The guest house was great good food very very clean in a nice part of Lincoln, the owners were very friendly and made us feel at home and at ease. In all a very pleasant stay in a nice part of the country.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by David, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the review It was our pleasure to have been of service
4 out of 5
by Michael

Room 2 is for the ladies.

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Having travelled for 3 hours beforehand, I was pleased to locate the guesthouse, and the reception was friendly. Room 2, a single room, was adequate, with few areas for improvement. Notable would be the poor digital TV reception for BBC 1, though other channels were satisfactory. Minor issues include difficulty in utilising a power socket to recharge a cellphone - the only available sockets (kettle and coffee maker) are partially obscured by the dressing table. The Bathroom was clean, and the hot water plentiful and swift. The only niggles were the toilet seat not remaining upright (not a problem for ladies) and the wash basin plug slowly leaking whilst one shaves (again, not a problem for female guests). Breakfast was excellent, and checkout most efficient. According to the sign outside, the business is up for sale.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review There are extra sockets in the room but the thousands of other guests who have stayed in this room tend to unplug either the Nesspresso coffee machine or the Kettle or indeed even the TV to use the socket to charge the phone if like on this occasion one can not be bothered to look properly for the extra power points Your point regarding the toilet seat is a fair comment and this has since been rectified but why oh why could you not mention it to us at breakfast whilst you were here as this could have been rectified same day instead of having to wait to see it on a review (not very helpful to future guests)
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Best in Lincoln

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Second time staying here - we are regular visitors to Lincoln but this place is not always available; we were lucky this time. Wll remain first choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, really friendly and helpful

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Gave us a map and bus times, local pubs which the meals were tasty. Lots to see and plenty of shops.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Lovely guest house, excellent facilities.

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
What can I say other than 'perfect.' This guest house offers excellent, professional, friendly service and first class modern facilities with some additional nice touches, such as fresh coffee making facilities in each room. Parking excellent and WIFI also very good. Breakfast fantastic. I loved this place and the lovely hosts. Hope to be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Michael Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Gables next time you are in the area
4 out of 5
by Anthony

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
Happy to recommend. Good breakfast as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Anthony many thanks for leaving your review Hope to see you next time you are in Lincoln
3 out of 5
by linda

Nice Guest House - unfriendly service at breakfast

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely guest house. Unfortunately, although I paid for breakfast (and had a 4 hour drive ahead of me), the dining room had a huge fish tank ( I have a fear of fish). I didnt want to make a fuss and so instead of ordering a full breakfast to take to me room (I do appreciate that hot food in rooms is not good), I ordered some toast. When the toast was brought to me I asked if it was Ok for me to butter a piece to take to my room - and was advised that no food was allowed in the room. I was so upset I didnt go into shower or anything - I had to dash so that I could leave earlier to get something to eat elsewhere. I was then questioned at Reception when I paid my bill as to what my issue was for not eating in the dining room!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you felt you had an unpleasant experience at breakfast I can assure you that was not the intention We merely asked if everything was ok when you left the dining room in a hurry and we then asked could we help in any way if there was a problem and we did not feel there was any need for you to yell at the top of your voice to our members of staff In the past we have had guests who have a fear of fish and had you told us this was a concern of yours we could have made arrangements for you to have your breakfast out of view of the fish tank Again apologies for any offence this misunderstanding may have caused and if you are ever in the area it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Gables
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A warm clean room

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Apart from a rather strange welcome, access to the guest house being almost spooky in the dark, I quite enjoyed my stay, the virtues of a warm, clean room and bathroom not being lost on me. I did not have a cooked breakfast but the ones served to other tables looked good, I asked for green tea, no problem.the entrance hall is a little tired, but the room was fine