Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southport

Would not stay again.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Location: On a busy road.
The hotel is on a busy junction with lots of road noise. I didn't think when I booked bed and breakfast i would have to make my own. Car parking is very limited and if parking in tight spaces is not your strong point I wouldn't bother. Will not be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noisy road

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Kitchen facilities excellent
Cons: Smell of bleach in the room a bit overwhelming
Location: A bit out of the way
In a ground floor room right on the road a bit noisy
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, unstaffed, not recommended

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Tennyson has changed business model to an unstaffed guest house, which is something of a disappointment when you find out. It is in a noisy location beside a main road and even through the double glazing I was kept awake by traffic until 2 am. The room was very hot with no way to adjust heating . Tea and coffee things were available but the UHT milk had curdled. Not recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Self service nonsense

Posted Sep 24, 2017
My booking was placed through Expedia on a Pay At The Hotel basis having booked for Bed and Breakfast. I was happy to book here as in previous years friends of mine stayed there and were more than happy with the location and breakfast. Imagine my surprise when I receive an email the day before I’m due to book in saying it’s now a self service Bed and Breakfast with no onsite staff and to help ourselves to provisions in the kitchen! So no cooked breakfast as the so called provisions were individual cereal boxes or porige pots combined with cartons of juice in the fridge. Also that they had taken full payment from my credit card a full day before I was due to book in. This was not what I ordered but not knowing what to expect in the provisions area prior to attending, having now paid already and there being nowhere else in the area available that evening we had no option but to stay there. The Tennyson was very clean and tidy, it was quiet and very comfortable. On arrival our key was in the correct place and we let ourselves into a very comfortable room. It was only let down by a nail sticking out of a bedside table which my wife found with her hand when putting stuff on the side.(see the photo) an attempt was made to resolve the nail issue but without tools or an on site staff member that proved difficult. So for us, as much as it is a nice place we won’t be using it again or recommending it as a place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Terrible location. Near fire station.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing at all would never return better sleeping in the car. Tried to get other accommodation but it was too late and the couple we tried were full.
Cons: Everything
Location: Not within walking distance from city centre. Great things to see e.g. Cathedral castle etc, but would need either a car or taxi.
Run down, grass overgrown, Beer bottles and cans in garden. Trouble getting into gust house code was wrong had to phone No on door took 20 mins getting in.. No hot water, Room fusty, pipes crackled in the morning. Trouble parking the car. Noise from road traffic virtually all night.Beds narrow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Lovely Guest House

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable bedroom that was very private.
Cons: Facilities to be able to make a cooked breakfast.
Location: Across the road from a lovely park and there are plenty of local amenities and shops.
Lovely guest house, that offers comfortable en suite rooms at a reasonable price. It is a guest house that doesn't have a live in host, however, the facilities offered are more than ample to make your own breakfast and the kitchen and seating area are very comfortable. Will most definitely be staying again and recommend to other guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as advertised

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: More honesty in marketing. Having a housekeeper on site (don't feel unsupervised premises are suitable for lone female guests)
Location: noisy road. lots of takeaways nearby
Was not told this was an unmanaged hotel until after the cancellation date. It is on a main road and my ground floor room was small, hot and very noisy, even with windows closed. It was clean and the bathroom was well presented but very small. There is a help-yourself-breakfast in the kitchen diner which was toast, cereals, fruit, yoghurt. I felt this hotel was expensive for what is provided. Cannot comment on the staff as there were none! Customer service responded quickly to my complaint about not being notified it was self service but not usefully. The picture on the Expedia website gives the impression the hotel is in a leafy suburb not on a main road quite a way from the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Hotel was comfortable and provided all I needed.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Hotel is not manned permanently but easy to find, easy to use, bed was comfy and not well sound-proofed against the road, self-service breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Africa

Hotel close to town centre

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We were extremely disappointed to discover that the Tennyson is a self service facility and no longer has a concierge i.e to cook breakfast. As a result we will look at other options in the area in future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, UK

Nice clean place with a cosy atmosphere

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Facilities were clean and modern
Cons: Find a way to soundproof the walls a little better and Room 1 gets too hot.
Location: Great location near to the city centre and surrounded by bus routes. All the typical things nearby - cathedral etc.
I've seen other people complain about the noise from the main road, this was admittedly a problem in the morning as certain vehicles drove past early in the morning (mopeds for example) but we slept well enough. Only complaint about our room, which was Room 1 at the top of the stairs, is that it was constantly very warm and stuff even with all radiators off and windows open all night. I think it had a lot of pipes running under the floorboards. Again, though, brilliant room. Great WiFi, everything you could need in your room, and very clean. Loved it and will likely stay again!