Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Anna M.

Luxury experience walk to concert

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Orbitz
Great stay going to the willie Nelson concert. Very pricy hotel but grew experience and service.
4 out of 5
by Bay Area Local from Silicon Valley, CA

Vegas in Central Cal

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels
For my wife's birthday, she wanted to get the gambling bug out of her system. We didn't want to fly all the way to Vegas and we also didn't want to drive all the way up to Tahoe from the Bay Area. Given this, she did some research and decided to give Thunder Valley a shot. Our overnight getaway worked out well. Room was clean, modern and luxurious. For dining, the High Steaks restaurant was top-notch and really an upscale steakhouse. The Thunder Cafe also worked well for breakfast. Casino itself was great for table play. My wife also appreciated the fact that they have all the latest video game-style slot machines (ie Family Guy, River Fishin', etc). My only quip is that the casino is a bit too smoky for my liking. Otherwise, Thunder Valley is a great spot to scratch your gamblin' itch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

fun to gamble with the in laws

Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels
Cafe not very convenient for taking children to meals. maybe I didn't find proper route thru the casino.
5 out of 5
by FE Dickens from Dallas, Tx.

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels
Great room. Quiet location. Hotel somewhat separated from casino which is super. Go to Sacramento often and will definitely stay at Thunder Valley on future trips.
5 out of 5
by bcsurvivor11 from Auburn CA

Doobie Brothers concert stay

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: Very convenient to stay when attending concerts
Cons: We're not smokers, so it would be perfect if they followed the California laws about no smoking in the casino area! But grateful for non-smoking room
Location: Thunder Valley Casino Resort, not a gambler so I would head to town of Lincoln, or Auburn to check out antique shops. Galleria Mall in Roseville.
Hotel room was large, clean, quiet, and very comfortable bed!
5 out of 5
by Mike from San Jose, CA

Quality hotel at a great price

Posted Jun 15, 2013
Pros: Rooms were fantastic, very large and modern. Casino and great steakhouse to round out the experience.
Cons: The location is little out of the way but it is worth the drive.
Location: I played golf nearby and you are close to Sacramento and 1 1/2 hours to Tahoe. Otherwise just gamble and enjoy the wonderful amenities at the resort.
High end hotel at a bargain price and great entertainment and restaurants on-site. Will go back if ever in the area.
4 out of 5
by MO from CA

We came for the pool

Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels
We decided to stay at Thunder Valley because of the pool. We had a great time at the pool. The pool could be a little cleaner but the area around the pool, seating etc was perfectly clean. The rooms were a surprise, very modern and comfortable. Food was good but getting to the food required a long walk thru the casino with children, which made us feel out of place and i am sure the gamblers didn't appreciate children in the casino either.
5 out of 5
by biz traveler from Cali

great gotel

Posted Jun 14, 2013 on Hotels
loved it - super clean
4 out of 5
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: I like how it's an elevator ride away from all the fun :)
Overall excellent experience. I don't even gamble but I love the luxury of the rooms. I wish I could have stayed longer than a night. Everything was very clean and it feels like nobody has ever used the room before.