Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Got bit several places by bed bugs.. it was horible I tried checking for bugs before sleeping and it seemed OK, until the next morning I woke up with lumps from bites all over my arm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by FD, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that. We took care the issue. We are 100% confident that there is no more problem like you mention. We take issue like this very very seriously and make sure that we eliminate the problem. Thank you for your view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

inexpensive hotel for downtown Lincoln .no frills

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: right down town
Cons: old decor
Location: all the conveniences of down town Lincoln
hotel was clean and everything worked , it work for my week end stay . walking distance to down town .Decor is dated but for the price didn't matter to me I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by FD, Hotel Management
Thank you for you response. See you soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend in Lincoln

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
We went for guys weekend for football game and it was everything we expected. Checkin was seamless and staff was friendly enough. No issues or concerns really at all. Rooms could use an upgrade on ambiance and cleanliness, but was just there to sleep really, so it met our expectations and needs perfectly. Parking was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to provide us feedback! We appreciate your thoughts and we are pleased you enjoyed our friendly staff and clean room. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Loud. You can hear everything. From people outside and inside. Right by college dorms. Air conditioner didn't work called. To have looked at and lady said it felt nice in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sorry for the inconvenience. During your stay hotel new roof work was going on and that's the reason there are roofing crew working outside and going throw hallway and elevator. Thankfully that project over. Thank you for the comment and we will work hard on your
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you! We are happy we could provide you with a much better experience this time! Our staff really is top notch! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your comfortable bed and the microwave and refrigerator in your room! We appreciate your review and we hope to see you again soon! They go the extra mile for our guests to make sure they enjoy their stay and they truly care about our customers!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating that mean a lot to us. See you soon
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay - we will certainly look into the issue you mentioned and do everything we can to eliminate any concerns. Thank you for letting us know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't recommend

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
The tile floors were very sticky, the fabric on the chair was weathered and dirty looking and the heating and air unit cover was loose. The entire room looked like it should have been updated MANY years ago. The caulk around the tub (finish worn) was moldy looking and the room smelled like someone had been cooking with curry. There was a penny on the floor, which made me wonder how well the room had been cleaned prior to our arrival. On a positive note, the people at the front desk were very nice and the motel was a short drive to the Haymarket Area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay - we will certainly look into the issue you mentioned and do everything we can to eliminate any concerns. Thank you for letting us know.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for recognizing the wonderful work of our team! They sincerely care about our guests and strive every day to make sure everyone enjoys their stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but with problems

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Tasteful colors and decor, but shower had significant mold, desk chair fabric was badly stained, bedside lighting inadequate. Lots of rowdy noise from other rooms and hallways until about midnight. Parking lot had quite a few people hanging out there. Potentially good location. Good price but still not cheap.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your experience with us. We apologize for the noise from other room guests - we try very hard to enforce behavior and noise standards, but there is that occasional person who can be very inconsiderate to us and our other guests. In parking lots people always walk by as lots of extended stay guest cook food out side in evening time but we are enforcing the regulations for cook out and hanging out in parking lot, we got very positive response still work in progress. We are sorry but we would like the opportunity to provide you with a much better stay for future!