Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I regret booking it

Posted Jun 29, 2017
It is not a hotel for travelers who might expect a staff or lobby it should only be considered for very cheap extended stay. As in weeks. Who have to save money. Huge disappointment. And it was still too pricey for what you get.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

More than adequate for our stay in Lincoln

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Location idéal for our stay. Friendliness of staff made the stay worthwhile. Smell in the room even though we kept the window open and the stickiness of the floor between the bathroom and the kitchen were the negative experiences
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by RP, Hotel Management
Thank you! Our rooms are well appointed with the refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, ironing board, iron, oversize tv, comfortable beds and extra sitting area to relax and enjoy. We have happy to hear you enjoyed our great location. We are sorry about cooking smell in the room due to kitchen in the room more guest like to cook in the room and we try to use best of the best cleaning to keep kitchen area clean. Thank you for the update.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

It's ok

Posted May 29, 2017
The hotel felt like a home. Had enough room and two TV's with a kitchen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by RP, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We want to do everything we can to provide our guests with a wonderful stay and we appreciate your feedback on your visit. We will give your comments careful consideration and do everything we can to improve.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
Could be upgraded, as it is extended stay. Only stayed for 1 night and was comfy and reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by RP, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and the early availability worked well for you. We appreciate the feedback on your stay and we will use your comments to help us improve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Clean, quiet location, and nice kitchenette

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Functional kitchenette. Clean and straightforward -- not fancy.
Cons: A few bigger cups, and a stopper for the sink.
I particularly enjoyed the little kitchenette, which included a 2-burner cooktop along with the usual microwave and fridge. Cupboards were stocked with the basics: plates, bowls, cups, glasses, cutlery, and a few pots and pans.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by rp, Hotel Management
Thank you! We are so pleased you referred to us as a "Great value for the price"! We couldn't be happier as that is exactly what we work hard to provide for our guests - a great value for their money! We appreciate your kind comments about our friendly staff and its always nice when our guests enjoy time during there stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shame on them!

Posted May 7, 2017
The manager Leo was extremely rude. We did not even stay one night because of his draconian attitute. We lost several hundred dollars because of it. However, i would not recommend this place to anyone with children.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by rp, Hotel Management
Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing!

Posted May 4, 2017
Loved the hotel, big hallways. The room was huge and very nice view. right downtown. Bunch if restaurants and bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by rp, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed our fantastic rates and great location. we always appreciate feedback from our guests and will everything we can to improve any areas we can. We agree -we are "definitely worth the price" and we want all of our guests to think so too! Thank you again and we hope you will give us a call if you are in town again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

horrible

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
upset
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by FD, Hotel Management
Sorry you are upset but the comfort and safety of other guests is our first priority. Guest satisfaction that is our goal and We will keep working and make it better experience of guest stays. Thank you
5 out of 5
by Connie l.

Great stay

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay. Very close to University and easy walk around town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels