Ratings based on 1,218 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Homewood and Manila

Cheapest, safe, sufficient

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Breakfast lacks imagination
Location: Lincoln Park, what more can one say?
Perfect location and price. Many shared facilities including common kitchen and TV room made one's stay bearable but barely. Rooms are tiny but so is the price. Sharing the bathroom was a hassle though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great location, great price, some drawbacks

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Dorm bunks not very comfortable. Strangely laid out floorplan with showers far from room. While great that the self-serve waffle breakfast is available, the whole place smelled overwhelmingly of artificial vanilla flavoring all day and night. Rooms were echoey, so noisy when occupants were moving around. Overall, though, can't beat the price for the lovely Lincoln Park neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Cheap hostel near the city of Chicago

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Service and entertainment
Cons: Rooms
Location: Near to good local restaurants and 15 min drive to the loop Chicago
Excellent experience, got to meet people from different countries and great place to relax
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Great views and breakfast. Lovely friendly hotel. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Everything was decent. Breakfast would have been nice to have eggs or gluten free options. Common area is good. Room was fine. Bathroom a bit dirty but doesn't bother me
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Breakfast only waffles, cereals and thin coffee. Laundry out of order. Very noisy at night. Restrooms are not being cleaned daily. Hotel staff not very welcoming at check-in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Value for the money in Lincoln Park.

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: The people and friendliness.
Cons: Rooms
Location: Great location and close to shops and sights
Staff and hospitality were excellent, Room was sparse.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Nice Hostel, good neighbourhood, bad beds

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Great hostel. They give you pancakes for breakfast. Perfect internet. Good location. Very very nice kitchen and Great staff. Everything ok but the beds. THE BEDS SOUND A LOT! IF YOU WANT TO REST DONT GO HERE. I went for the Chicago Marathon and needed to sleep but was almost imposible because the beds sound a lot. The bunks are made of a metal that sounds if someone moves and if you are sleeping in a 4-bed room you will probably not rest at all. That happens in all the rooms of the hostel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene, Oregon, USA

Def staying here from now on.

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: I appreciated the warm, GENUINE, kind human beings on staff. What's more, they're efficient and professional. What more do you want?
Cons: If the hostel made available in the rest rooms washable rags / cloths, that would give guests a way to clean up after ourselves / dry sink areas.
Location: From ORD, take the CTA Blue Line ($5.00) to Union Station and walk north to the CGH. It's an easy couple of miles through gorgeous neighborhoods.
Breakfast: cold cereals with fruit and milk; pancakes; coffee or tea (bring your own tea) out of REAL DISHES. In fact the only paper I saw were the napkins (possibly made of recycled materials) in the dining area and the paper towels in the kitchen area. Somehow, raisin bran never tasted so good. The kitchen is all industry-grade stainless steel by the way. It's huge with all the appliances you'd need to make a feast for 12, if that's what you're into. There's ample space for you to store food / leftovers / groceries. Many guests did prepare their own food. Others got carry-out and ate it in the large, comfortable and tasteful (no plastic chairs here) dining area adjacent to the kitchen. There's a couple of TV areas set off in TV 'areas' -- not bothersome, not dominating. I was so happy at the hostel, as you can see. Why be isolated when you can be among others. You can interact and chat or not, as your mood dictates. And why pay $170.00 / night? My two nights total price was $70.00+change. The location offers beautiful residential as well as the bustle and commerce of Halsted and Clark to the east. And oh right, Lincoln Park and the lake are just a few blocks beyond Clark. During my stay there were guests of all ages and multiple nationalities. There were gay and straight, professionals and students.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

Very nice, clean, secure hostel.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Very secure, very friendly, good location.
Stayed here for 4 nights and loved my time. Everyone was very friendly. My room was very clean, I had an en suite bathroom and the shower could have been a little bit cleaner but nothing that I couldn't handle.The hostel itself is very secure and has nice common areas. My only complaint was that they shut down breakfast at its strict hours. I came down a couple minutes to 9:30 and I couldn't even get a cup of coffee because they had shut everything down regardless of how many people were in the kitchen. Also if you are driving here you may want to try and get there as early as you can as parking is quite the nightmare. But overall thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again!