Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful time capsule in Grantham

Posted Jan 24, 2017
This hotel oozes charm and history from the moment you step into the courtyard and imagine the horses resting in the stables after pulling stagecoaches. The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and confortable. Watch out for extremely hot water! We didn't eat dinner but the breakfast was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from woking

Close to all the shopping and cafes in town

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The history
Cons: Control of room temps
Location: Lovely Victorian buildings ,nice museum two nice shopping centres
A break from driving all the way home in one go. The hotel was old and had a great history. All the facility's were very good , nice bistro and dining room the full English breakfasts were first class, my only small gripe that every where was a bit too warm, nice stay though,would stay again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

THE place to stay in Grantham

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
This is a splendid hotel with a very long history, parts are said to date from the 9th century. It is clean, comfortable and has great character. The staff are helpful, friendly and efficient, it is just a pity that we were just passing through so were unable to spend more time there. There is plenty parking space at the rear of the hotel but the route to it is not obvious. However it is very convenient when you have found it. There is a very good breakfast menu and everything we had was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

customer service

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: see above, and get your staff to smile !!
Location: business visit
I have driven over three and half hours to the hotel to be met by a receptionist on the phone, that is fine, but she gave me a sternly look, I was always taught to acknowledge customers even if you are on the phone with a smile. Not the greatest welcoming. The hotel is tired and no one gives you eyes contact or smiles, I was poorly at the time and asked if there was a lift I was told with a short sharp voice "NO" why did they not ask if I was ok and could they help. !! The pillows are nothing but thin pieces of material, windows filthy, and cushions on the bed that had seen better days. Terrible night sleep
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from North Lincs

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Large clean comfortable room and good food.
Cons: Access for those with mobility issues. Perhaps the lack of lifts could be made clearer on booking.
Location: Very good town centre location
I have some mobility difficulties and I was very disappointed to find that there was no lift or ground floor rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

In town hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Hotel was ok but i thought for £81 for a twin single .of which the beds seemed a child width .breakfast was an extra charge.Everthing was an extra.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay in Grantham.

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Look and feel was to a good standard.
Cons: N/A
Location: I was on business so only aware of the shops nearby.
Couldn't fault anything about this hotel. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room exceeded my expectations, plus the location was right in the centre of town with easy access to secure, free parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Centrally Located

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: It's location & convenient car parking.
Cons: Rooms are slightly dated.
Location: We were visiting friends, so did not travel around much.
This hotel is worth a visit for its rich past history alone. King John, Richard 111. Breakfast was good, staff excellent. Very oldie worldie & traditional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard working staff, needs a face lift

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: The very hard working staff
Cons: Up dating and a real face lift.
Location: The Cathedral was a real treasure.
The Angel and Royal Hotel is a treasure, but is in dire need of a face lift. The staff worked very hard to make our visit easier. My sister cannot do stairs easily and I didn't realize there was not lift. The bell man was there to help, but it was difficult for her to do the stairs. The bar and restaurant need updating. Our food was excellent, but the atmosphere was depressing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

High street location

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: good food
Cons: the room
Location: high street location
Nice welcome, room disappointing food good ,white wine was served at room tenperature