Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, great value.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
A lovely old style hotel in a lovely setting. food was good and reasonably priced. Room was comfortable and clean. The use of the health club is a bonus, although the equipment was modern, the sauna didn't work(only negative) great value for money. It being old, it could do with a spruce up in areas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surrounded by Lovely country side

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: As above
Cons: Some rooms still need updating and some days there was a shortage of staff at breakfast.
Location: Isaac newtons old school in walking distance national trust properties nearby . Some historical towns Melton Mowbray
Very pleasant stay wonderful breakfast and also an evening meal in the restaurant. Staff helpful when a room needed to be changed. Wonderful building. We stayed in external accommodation in woodland lodge. Room very nice .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Beautiful surroundings quiet and peaceful

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: As above
Cons: First room had a very small shower room but was changed for a lovely room with a bath.
Location: National trust properties to visit and historical buildings.
Lovely stay in a very interesting building with beautiful gardens and surrounded by wonderful countryside. Also good facilities in the leisure centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newbury

Mixed Feelings

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Comfortable room. Breakfast food. Magnificent building and gardens
Cons: Service!
Location: Fantastic gardens. Be aware of the right turns on and off the A1 highway required to reach this venue. They can be suicidal at busy times!!
Very mixed feelings about this hotel. The building and the grounds are truly magnificent. There are some splendid walks through the gardens. We were allocated a room in the old stables that was comfortable and even had an attached kitchenette - unusual. On the downside we arrived at 5.30 and wanted dinner around 7 because we were starving, but were told there was no availability till 8.30 or 9, which was annoying, especially since my partner is diabetic and needs to eat regularly for medical reasons. We had to eat in the bar and it only had a very restricted menu. Parking is very limited - annoying in a place that has grounds which stretch as far as the eye can see (build some more!) Breakfast food was excellent although the service was patchy. A real mix that would benefit from some solid management.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value would stay again

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Beautiful architecture and stunning gardens make this a hotel we would return to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will stay again +++

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Room, look of the hotel, friendly staff and location.
I travel for business a few times a month to the Grantham area but my normal hotel was full so I thought I'd try this place out plus it was a lot cheaper and included breakfast. Location is ideal for my business travel with friendly staff at check in, short walk to my room as it was in the Stable Court Yard so it was very different to my normal hotel layout, however room was very clean, comfey double bed with tea/ coffee, TV and basic bathroom. For £70 incl breakfast I thought it was pretty good. Breakfast was as you would expect with a help yourself serving of fry up breakfast, buns or a few options you can order from the menue but may pay extra! Overall I would stay here again for the value of money, comfort and breakfast and plus it's only a 5 min drive to where I need to be.
5 out of 5
by alan from newmarket

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel and surrounding massive gardens, good food, only comment the dining area was a bit like going below stairs to the servants area, could pay attention to small detais on the route there
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Don't judge a book by its cover

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Setting, convenience, links to major roads.
Cons: Attention to detail. More accurate picture gallery on website.
Location: Oakham, Grantham and surrounding villages all within easy reach.
Having booked in advance for a superior double and, bouyed by the photos online, we hoped for the utmost in luxury. The hotel, its setting, approach, aspect and grandeur ticked all the boxes. The staff were polite and helpful. The room was right up in the eves - it had been a warm couple of days so it felt stuffy. The first thing we did was to open the windows which were garret style, not the large windows in the photos. The room, however, was spacious; enough room for a king (6ft) sized headboard, a queen (5ft) bed base and a double (4ft 6in) mattress. Quite what the chambermaids had been up to when they cobbled together the odds and ends left over for Mansion Room 1 (there are 16 in all, take note) is anyones guess as, when queried, the person in charge was on leave. The hotel facilities boast a fitness suite and pool but, since these were 200 yards from the main house, we passed. The restaurant was down at basement level so did not command those excellent views from the state rooms which can be booked for weddings, conferences, etc. I suppose it makes sense to be near the kitchens but a compromise could be reached as there was plenty of space in the state rooms described to contain a popup kitchen. Food was good but not spectacular, and the breakfasts - which you could have specially made if you forego traditional English - whilst copious, were institutionally prepared and left to bake in their hotplates.
1 out of 5
by BEN from Stockport

Not great ! Look elsewhere

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
It really is not what it looks like - more youth hostel than hotel