Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southsea

Good facilities and transport links.

Posted May 15, 2017
Clean hotel with friendly staff and good facilities. Food was good, nothing outstanding but adequate. Inflated price to include swimming pool, gym etc I presume but I would say a premier inn would be better value for money. Only irritating aspect was the toilet not flushing in the room and a non adjusting thermostat (hot, hot, hot!).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staying whilst on business

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Location was convenient to where I needed to be. Beds are comfy.
Cons: Staff - common courtesy and a smile goes a long way. Treat people as Guests and not inconveniences.
Location: Would recommend The Gregory for a meal and Chequers Inn at Woolsthorpe.
I stay at this hotel when no others are available in the area! Nothing seems to improve and staff very rarely smile, everything seems to be an effort! Iron in room didn't work, hair dryer in room kept over heating so would recommend anyone to take their own if staying here. I did ask for a replacement hairdryer and one was VERY begrudgingly brought to my room - if the guy could have thrown it at me I'm sure he would have!! The replacement was the same as the old one so no improvement!! Food - not great - I ordered room service to be told that the menu that was in the room was out of date. I wanted a caesar salad but was told they no longer did salads (strange as there is a health spa at the hotel you'd think that salads and healthy options would feature!!). What I did order was not appetising at all and left most of it. I ate out the rest of my stay! Fire alarm goes off regularly very early morning. I was told by staff its because people don't close their bathroom doors when taking showers just ignore it!! Hope to god there isn't a real fire one day!! Hotel needs some TLC and very dated. Spa - Pool is very small and the gym is sub-standard in today's market but adequate for a quick workout. No one attending poolside and no one to hand at the gym.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grantham UK

Wedding ruined - not happy

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The hot tub was nice
Cons: MOST THINGS
- Kingsize bed not actually a kingsize but two singles put next together which the bride fell between twice and hurt herself - Very uncomfortable - Very old looking - Had a theft from house keeping - Left one night early - Room charges were given to the wrong person - Reservations were messed up - Receptionist was unreasonable and rude to the bride in her wedding dress
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Checked out!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Unfortunately the smell of chlorine from the spa overpowered the hotel, including the bar area. The receptionist was very understanding and helpful when I requested cancellation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staffs

Ideal location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
We were in room 116 It was an absolute nightmare as it was smack bang in the middle of all rooms so had no sleep, breakfast was fab. When we checked out stuff didn't bother to ask how we found out stay which was unprofessional. Massage and facial was excellent and the staff were friendly upstairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017
We chose this hotel because it was central to our family. We were celebrating my 70th. I found the hotel staff extremely friendly and accommodating. We all had wonderful rooms with very comfortable beds. The rooms were clean. The food served in the restaurant was excellent. As far as location it was on the periphery of Grantham close to the main road but once inside the hotel you could be forgiven for thinking you were in the middle of the country.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gatwick

Hotel clean, just a bit undated

Posted Apr 10, 2017
I payed for 4 people to stay, my room only had two cups, so I had to ask for more. Later in I realised we only had two towels so I had to go and ask for two more. At dinner we waited a long time before getting served ( it was not busy), when we ordered we waited a long time for our drinks, so I had to ask where they were. Lovely food, when we did did finally get it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Grantham hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Very tired and tatty hotel, basic rooms. Breakfast was nice. Not 4 star in my opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk

Lovely hotel .food expensive if you have children

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Cons: Nothing
Location: Handy location and close to all amenities.
Lovely hotel but spoilt by Expedia booking it for me.expensive to eat if you have teenagers. Lovely that you can use the pool ect.brekfast very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Short Stay

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: good parking, nice pool /gym
Cons: Room access cards had to have them reprogrammed several times
Location: Belvoir castle lovely! windmill pub in redmile, great meals. not far to Newark lovely town .
Practical position, friendly staff, good parking, good pool/gym breakfast was ok but shame bacon not realy cooked well and eggs too but excellent helpfull staff to be fair. Good parking at the hotel only other point is room access cards needed re doing nearly every day they would work once or twice then you couldnt get in and its a fair trek back to reception all in all a good hotel if the breakfast details are sorted and the access cards then a great hotel!