Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Great pool, nice staff

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Excellent hotel, great location, I like the seaside keys excellent for lounging and swimming.
1 out of 5
by James

Don't stay at the Carasco

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a breathtaking location perched on a cliff overlooking the sea. Unfortunately that's the only good thing to say. The Carasco's rooms and common areas look like they were last updated in the 1980s and the furnishings are tattered and somewhat dirty. The bathrooms were small and out shower curtain was in worse shape than a college dormitory. The service at breakfast and lunch was slow...food was average which is hard to do in Sicily. The pool water was shocked with chemicals that literally stung my children and caused rashes. The area surrounding the hotel isn't great and walking into town was not convenient. The hotel shuttle was helpful...when available. After one night we checked out of the Carasco and the hotel manager forced us to pay for a 2nd night even though we expressed our dissatisfaction and outlined all of the issues. Hotel.com was no help and provided no recourse for such shocking deficiencies in the so-called 4 star Hotel Carasco.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Good location with some downsides

Posted Jul 15, 2016
- Great location with access to the water - Very hard mattresses terribly uncomfortable - Not many hotel staff around to help e.g tend the bar - There was last persons soap still in shows covered in hair, disgusting!
4 out of 5
by Robert from Paddington Sydney

Highly recommended

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed a very comfortable brief stay at this wonderful hotel. Location,location,location! Amazing pool,good breakfast,large room with balcony over the sea and helpful shuttle bus service into town. The !960's era design added to the charm of this great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

What a view

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: The amazing location and pool. Handy shuttle service to town or the airport.
Cons: May be ready for a refurbishment, looking tired in some areas. Food in the restaurant was good but not fantastic and limited drinks menu at the bar.
Location: Swimming and snorkelling, relaxing in the sun, shopping and dining. Lots of day excursions offered to other islands. Churches, a Museum, vineyards.
We loved this hotel, great location, right on the water with amazing pool and fantastic seaside swimming area. Incredible views over the Mediterranean and the town of Lipari. Very grand public areas and comfortable guest rooms. Very helpful and friendly staff. Our room was very clean and tidy with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and the sea.
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Chicago

Great Hidden Spot

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
I loved this cute old school hotel. The pool and beach front access were both amazing. Unfortunately, the management of the hotel is rather poor. The hotel has a great pool side bar that is never attended to, and the staff always appears to be spread very thin.
4 out of 5
by priya from Los Angeles

Great escape!

Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Hotels
This place was so magical for the price point! It's certainly a retreat away from the city but the hotels convenient shuttle makes it so easy! Breakfast was complimentary and great, honestly, wouldn't stay anywhere else!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Stunning location

Posted Jul 10, 2015
I stayed in July 2015 with a party of 4 (2 adults, a teenager and an 8 year old). The hotel was great - clean rooms and a great setting. It's not completely modern, but has enormous charm and is very comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. I can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
by Escape

Good clean place

Posted Jun 27, 2015 on Hotels
Good clean place
5 out of 5
by Suzanne from Tucson

Lovely Place with breathtaking views

Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
Marco at the front desk was kind and accommodating. All the staff were very professional. The hotel is stuck in 1971 but still lovely. The views are breathtaking and since it is somewhat off the beaten path there is a wonderful sense of privacy.