Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sintra short break

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was plentiful and of a high standard.
Cons: Knock down the cabins in the garden, they look extremely shabby and out of keeping with the rest of the Hotel.
Location: Excellent location, Sintra is very beautiful and many interesting things to see and do.
When we arrived we were allocated a very outdated 1970's style glass sided cabin in the garden, this had not been aired and the temperature inside was unbearably hot partly due to the faulty cooler which was not plumbed in correctly, this was causing the hot air to exit into the room.However the main Hotel building is fine and our eventual room was very comfortable,so ensure what you are being allocated in advance. Noisy parrots in an outside aviary,which started squawking at approx 6am, we found this upsetting and didn't enjoy the concept of caged birds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved this place! Beautiful & tranquil

Posted Jun 6, 2017
This place was absolutely amazing! Perfectly located close to town, just walk through a gorgeous garden to get to the city center. Amazing garden outside your window! Favorite hotel/b&b of our entire 2 week trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall, uk

Close to the centre

Posted May 16, 2017
Amazing little b&b really close to the centre of sintra. Loved the gardens, gave it real character. We stayed in the apartment and it was a perfect base for our trip. We explored sintra in the day and the b&b was a lovely place to rest our tired feet. Varied selection for breakfast, interesting local cakes and local graham fruit. Added bonus - you can buy cheap bottles of beer from reception! Big thumbs up!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely bed and breakfast with a country feel

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed twice at this bed and breakfast. First time we were lucky and had a totally lovely room! beautiful view of the garden, very comfy, ample, romantic! Breakfast was great; staff was super helpful and friendly! Second time around, our room was not as great, so if you have a chance, may I suggest you stay in the main house. Breakfast was lovely as well and location couldn't be better for exploring Sintra and its palaces. Will try to go back! HIghly recommended
5 out of 5
by Juho

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed the place. Friendly staff, good breakfast, good location, clean and facilities were in good shape.
4 out of 5
by Karen

Sound B and B

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
This is a sound B and B just outside of the centre (600metres) but it is down a steep hill on narrow roads with no real paths which can be tricky when walking into town at night. There is a shortcut via the park but that closes at 6.30 in the winter. We stayed in a garden apartment, the bedroom sitting area and small kitchen were great. The bathroom while very clean was a little tired and in need of a facelift. Breakfast had a good choice of foods. The main building has some beautiful floors and decor. The owners / staff are great on arrival but are not really present after that. You need to ring a bell to see anyone. The one concern I have is after 9.30pm the bell us removed so I'm not sure what would happen in an emergency. Particularly in the garden rooms. The gardens are lovely and would in the summer I think be fab.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

B&B near the center

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Don't look for a front desk, there is none. I found out from a construction worker outside that you have to ring a bell and wait for someone to show up. Although the welcome speech was very informative, it was thrown at me before I could even catch my breath and the gent disappeared back in his room upstairs in a hurry. Stayed there in December and the common areas smelled very musty which was bad for my asthma. Great location though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wroclaw, Poland

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Interesting place, a fairy-tale surroundings, nice view, the sounds of nature at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad luck with our room

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Perhaps we just had a poor room, but it had an unpleasant odor, bed was not comfortable, lighting in the bathroom was so poor it was hard to see to put contact lenses in, and the bathroom window ( potential source of light) opened right on to the courtyard/ front door. On the plus side, the common area was beautiful and the breakfast was not bad. Cute parrots to entertain during breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient B&B

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
The shower in my room was very tiny and I hated it!!!!!! Room was clean and comfortable. The house is traditional and dated but staff are friendly. There is a pool and Jacuzzi in the garden. Continental breakfast but there is plenty, Sintra is very historical with lots to see, however it is very hilly and the roads were designed for horses not the tourist buses.