Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leicester

Modern and minimalist but with excellent service.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The hotels location is fantastic as you are within a stones throw of some UNESCO world heritage sites. The staff are superb, always available without being intrusive. Food is first class. The hotel celebrated its 8th birthday while we were there and my only very small observation is that some areas could do with a little touch up. Having said that it is still a first class hotel which I would return to time and time again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hotel close to the train tracks

Posted Feb 20, 2017
So noisy we ended up moving hotels 2 nights into our 5 night stay. Avoid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Perfect hotel for not the business hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Who we are: My wife and I both travel a bit for work - so when we travel, our basic requirements might be slightly higher than the average traveler. With that said - when traveling for pleasure, we want an experience that is decidedly not a chan hotel. Enter - Altis Belem. Each room has a unique decor which is both elegant and unexpected. It is the perfect balance of a concept hotel that doesn't sacrifice quality for its vision. Various aspects of the room were things that we hope to replicate once back from our trip. Hotel staff is immensely helpful. The complimentary breakfast is one of the few that is actually rather good - even if it weren't a comp meal. Rooms just felt like home - and yet decidedly away from home. Just to be aware - Belem is 10-15 minutes cab to downtown. We didn't mind at all (stunning view of the water and all necessaries in the hotel) - but this is not center of town. Strongly recommend for anyone who is looking for a modern hotel that keeps you focused on vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Bright, clean lines,great views,fantastic staff.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Close to Belém Tower and Jerónimos Monastery
We stayed at the he hotel for 4 nights for a conference at the Congress centre. We also had relatives on the same floor. The hotel was simply beautiful and our views fantastic. It was new, clean, uncluttered and modern. The bathrooms/shower had clear glass which may not suit families staying together, so keep that in mind. The staff was attentive, helpful and kind . The breakfast staff made an effort to remember what type of coffee we liked for breakfast! The bed and pillows were comfortable. The rooms large. Our relatives had balconies with a spa as they were in the better quality rooms. We had the better waterviews. the pool was quiet and a little warm. The breakfast choices were great, especially the cheeses! It was close enough to walk to Belém Tower and the Jerónimos Monastery. To go into the centre of town, a taxi is needed however but not expensive , especially for 2-3 people. We paid €6-10 most days, depending on nighttime or exact location, as there are a lot of building works and delays at times. Walking to conference centre is about 30 minutes of flat but reasonably fast walk. There are a couple of additional services that would make this perfect: provide tea making facilities ( currently Nespresso machine available but charged as minibar), provide water bottles every day, not just on arrival, have a self service laundry! Oh, perhaps a blind for the shower may make it more suitable to families.... Otherwise, one of my best ever hotel stays. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern, beautiful; spacious rooms; friendly staff

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: As above. The staff. The service, the beautiful rooms.
Cons: Some privacy screens across the extremely modern bathrooms to screen you off from the living area for some privacy would be good
Location: Close to Jeronimos Monastery, tower of Belem, station, and other firms of public transport.
We enjoyed our stay at Altus Belem. The staff were warm, welcoming and friendly. They accomodated our request for adjoining rooms. The rooms and hotel in general, is spacious, with stunning water views. We had a welcome gift of the special pastries that Belem is famous for. There were Spas on our balconies so we could enjoy the views while sipping wine and enjoying the spa and the views. The service, from all staff was always prompt, courteous and helpful . We stay there again and recommend it to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fabulous hotel perfect for couples.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
We had a fantastic stay in a hotel that offered everything in a beautiful and picturesque environment along the waterfront. Thank you to all of the lively staff that made the stay that more memorable. Would certainly recommend to friends and family. Perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016
We stayed at the Altis Belem for a short city break in June. The location was fantastic within reach of the city easily but on the water front in an area with lots of lovely places to eat and stroll to.
5 out of 5
by Alison from London

Lovely little 5 star hotel on the water

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
We had an amazing time here at the end of April, the staff are low key but totally on it. The view from our room was lovely and the location spot on. We took the train to the beach from outside the hotel one day it only took 20 minutes. The breakfast is good, free wifi and for a change lots of English speaking TV channels for when you are tired after a hard day walking round the city :)