Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Maryland

Second visit better than the first!

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Asking this question is like asking which of your children you love the most. For me it's the sum of the parts that makes the whole perfect. Saying that I can remark on the staff who did whatever they could to make our stay top notch starting with our check in experience. The front desk had everything we anticipated asking such as restaurant recommendations, places to see, transportation, free breakfast, the garden and the library! We didn't have to ask. Then there is sweet Elsa! Elsa helped us with our April 2016 trip and true to form, she was very helpful for this trip. Also to be mentioned is the housekeeping staff who refreshed our room daily and most importantly the woman who set up our breakfast table each morning. By the way, the breakfast is amazing
Cons: This is silly but it goes to show how fantastic the hotel is...the door into our bathroom opens the wrong way. See it's silly.
Location: La Chat. La Chat. La Chat. Best restaurant ever. Enough said except for La Boullangerie that has the best almond croissants on the planet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel of the year for me

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Located right in the water - can take a walk and enjoy the sights. Also close to the art museum.
I travel often and this was far and away the best hotel I've stayed in this year. Spotless, staff are friendly and attentive, wonderful amenities, delicious food and an absolutely beautiful building. I can't wait to return actually...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, United States of America

Hotel with a view of the river

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The decor and the view of the water.
Cons: The street it's on is kind of a main drag, not a side street. No fault of the hotel, but something to know.
Location: Very cool Time Out Market with great food purveyors is very close. Also, there's a wonderful Fado place in the neighborhood.
Beautiful hotel. In the flat part of the city. Not right in the middle of the action but that didn't matter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near chester uk

Wonderful colonial setting.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
We arrived after being in Lisbon for our honeymoon 31 years ago. This hotel was fantastic. Enjoyed every minute of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and homely hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The library on 3rd floor with honesty bar and lovely view. Very pleasant to unwind here after a busy day.
Location: Location is a 10-15 minute walk from the Centre. A couple of times we took a taxi back due to tiredness - very affordable at 6-7€
Just like being a guest in someone's home - not like impersonal slick modern hotels. Staff are very helpfuland friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

A delightful surprise

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Very spacious bedrooms and spotlessly clean (as was the entire hotel). Wonderful breakfast, much better than at larger "chain" hotels and very comfortable and welcoming lounge and terrace areas
Cons: Nothing we didn't like....we will stay here again when we return to Lisbon.
Location: A bus stop just a few yards away that is a 15 minute trip into the centre of Lisbon. Close enough to be able to visit the main attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: It's perfect
Location: Located away from city centre but still accessible location. Quieter than city centre with buses right outside, trams at end of the street.
For people who prefer a smaller hotel in a quieter location but still within easy reach of the centre this is a great place with lots of personal touches. Mainly middle aged to mature couples when we stayed there. Bus in to city centre (5 mins) runs right past the door. A couple of good neighbourhood restaurants close by plus a great " la boulangerie", where everything is baked on the premises, for breakfasts, coffee & cake etc. Hotel staff were extremely helpful. Will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey,UK

Four Day Break

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Attention to detail. Room had the usual toiletries, plus bathrobes and slippers. Free wifi in all areas. Good atmosphere throughout.
Cons: There was nothing to dislike, but it is a pity that it does not serve dinner. However there are resaurants nearby.
Location: Within walking distance of city centre, but a bus stops right outside which takes only a few minutes. In the opposite direction a bus goes to Belem.
Possibly the nicest hotel we have stayed in. Very cosy traditional hotel. Clean and well decorated. Staff friendly and helpful. Room quiet and bed very comfortable. Spacious bathroom. Complementary caraf of port in the room and and unlimited complementary tea & coffee in the library. An umbrella in the room was a nice touch but not needed. An excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Romantic getaway with yummy freebies

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Staff are fantastic and very welcoming. It is comfortable and casual. Great freebies like port, tea and coffee, snacks and pastries.
Cons: The bed was made up in fantastic soft linens, yet was quite lumpy and sunken in on one side. New beds may be needed in some of the rooms.
Location: Location is convenient to discovering other areas, yet there is not much in the immediate area aside from small eateries. Transportation= cheap/easy.
We had a lovely stay at this boutique hotel. The room was comfortable and clean. The views from the library are fantastic and the ambiance there is great. We enjoyed sunset and moonlight sipping port wine from our room and eating some free snacks. Most of all the staff are wonderful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Short walk to metro and train station. Nice market nearby
Great hotel. The staff was vary helpful. Vary good breakfast