Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Boutique Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Spotless rooms and bathrooms! Extremely helpful and pleasing staff. The hotel really did feel like you were a guest in a friend's home.
Cons: Please replace the mattresses! Terribly hard beds and pillows.
Location: Location in Santos, within 20-30 minutes walk to Commerce Square downtown, 8 minute taxi to Belem.
Very nice stay! Boutique heritage hotel that was extremely clean with nice touches -- free port wine in rooms, Molton Brown soaps, attentive and helpful staff, free entrance to museum next door, tea/coffee and treats out all day for guests. Great bakery just down from the hotel, Hop On Hop Off Bus stops nearby, bus stops out front. Easy to also find taxis. Only downside was the extremely hard bed and pillows, which is a shame because the rest of the hotel was very comforting and homey. The breakfast buffet is well-tended but pricey for the offerings (14 Euro per person). Overall we were very happy with our stay and our experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Diogo Laranjo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review about your stay with us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the informal and friendly atmosphere of our hotel and also our helpful staff. Concerning our mattresses, they are medium firm in order to please most part of our guests, however we have the possibility to make them softer or firmer according to the guest liking. We also offer a pillow menu in the case you prefer other type of pillows, you just have to let us know anytime during your stay, as it is stated for both in the room directory. Our staff will be most pleased to meet your preferences. Regarding our buffet breakfast the regular cost is € 14 but if you book it in advance and for the whole stay then the price is € 10 per day. We hope to welcome you again and offer you a pleasant stay. Yours sincerely, Diogo Laranjo General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Quality hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Quiet convenient location with bus stops outside hotel. Friendly staff and spacious rooms with quality bed linen,towels, dressing gowns and toiletries
Cons: On upstairs terrace furniture cushions need replacing.
Thoroughly enjoyed first visit to Lisbon and the hotel did not disappoint in any way. Stayed for three nights but four would be better to cover all the sights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

elegant hotel ideal for Lisbon sightseeing

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: It's charm and elegance. It still feels like a very elegant home with its antiques and lovely decor
Cons: Perhaps a small fridge in the room for medicines etc.
Location: It is practically next door to the museu de Arte Antigua and there are many restaurants in the area. The Puppet Museum is also nearby.
We spent 5 days in this hotel visiting the sights in Lisbon. It was the perfect base and we loved coming back to the elegant lounge and patio and the very comfortable, spacious room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Hôtel bien situé

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Situation. Ambiance. Gentillesse, disponibilité et discrétion du personnel.
Cons: Bruits des sanitaires chambre voisine
Tram, train et bus à proximité vous amènent dans les différents quartiers et lieux à visiter. L'endroit fourmille de petits restaurants typiques et aussi sympas les uns que les autres.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Le Touquet

HOTEL dans un cadre chaleureux et relaxant

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Nous avons découvert une maison de maître plutôt qu'un hôtel. Le décor est cosy et nous pouvons nous reposer dans de confortables divans bercés par le chant de la fontaine en dégustant gâteaux et boissons fraîches. Superbe jardin pour le petit déjeuner. A l'étage belle bibliothèque et terrasse donnant sur le Tage. Personnel accueillant parlant français. A recommander vivement!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice enough hotel but too far from city center

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: The staff are very friendly.
Location: The place is too far from the city center and major touristic attraction. You need to take a tram or taxi to get there.
We decided to stay at this hotel after reading the positive reviews and after a Portuguese friend recommended it to us. While there is nothing overtly wrong with it, we ended up regretting our choice. The hotel itself could be described as charming and the staff are super friendly and helpful. The terrace and library are lovely as well. The rooms however are quite small and dated, especially the bathrooms which give off a distinct 60ies vibe (think some cracked (baby-blue) tiles and grout that has seen better days). Given that the hotel is not inexpensive, we were quite disappointed (it felt like there were mostly elderly couples staying there so maybe we just weren't their target audience). What we were really unhappy about however was the distance to the city center. It's technically walkable but not very appealing and we ended up taking taxis every day. We will return to Lisbon but will definitely stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by Diogo Laranjo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are glad that you liked our friendly staff, as well as our terrace and library. The old world charm is what we want to preserve, the best way we can, in this XVIII century house. The traditional ambience combined with nowadays comfort pleases people from different ages that appreciate old fashioned charm but with today´s technologies. Also, the neighborhood of Lapa retains much of its original character. This area is not so crowded and touristic as other historic parts of Lisbon but that is also an advantage for someone who wants to have contact with the city’s authentic lifestyle. At the same time you can also easily walk to some very touristic quarters like Bairro Alto and Chiado or to some interesting places by the river like Lx Factory or Docas. We value all Guests feedback and we will keep on working hard in order to offer them a most pleasant stay. Yours sincerely, Diogo Laranjo General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haarlem

Prachtig hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: zeer sfeervol ingericht
Cons: niets
Location: hotel vlak bij de Taag en op 20 min van het centrum
Heerlijk sfeervol ingericht hotel met zeer vriendelijk personeel: mooi ingerichte kamers, prima service en schitterend uitzicht vanuit het terras bij de bibliotheek
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Full of character

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Very nice hotel, clean, full of character and helpful staff. Would recommend to anybody who is going to Lisbon and wants to stay somewhere a little different, and a bit special.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Ich habe mich noch nie so umsorgt und trotzdem nicht belästigt gefühlt wie in diesem Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Klasse, Charme und Stil

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: liebevoll ausgestattet und durchdacht bis in die kleinsten Kleinigkeiten
Location: 50 m zur Bushaltestelle, excellente Anbindung in die Innenstadt und alle anderen Buslinien und U-Bahnen. 1,5 km zu Fuss
Freundlicher Empfang, auch zu nachtschlafender Zeit noch sehr hilfsbereit, Auskunft zu allen Fragen, die wir hatten; excellenter Service, großzügige Handhabung von Getränken, Obst, Keksen etc. Wir haben uns immer persönlich wahrgenommen gefühlt.