Ratings based on 498 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield

A lovely quirky hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Close to the city centre, next door to a fascinating museum and with easy transport links.
It is a lovely quirky hotel. The staff were very helpful, professional and friendly. The library/sitting room on the top floor was lovely and comfortable with a good view over the river. The beds were vefy comfortable and the complementary port in the room was much appreciated. We really liked it a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus. Ohio, USA

Quaint, Old-School Hotel w/ Nice Central Location

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: I think the helpful staff who speak a LOT of languages are definitely stand-out. The people at the front desk are fluent in many European languages.
Cons: The elevators should be upgraded at some point. They're not terrible, but they're probably the only thing that's not enjoyable.
Location: The location itself is OK, but it isn't spectacular. However, it's mid-way between two of the BEST areas along the river - great walks both ways.
Very enjoyable stay, with the full, traditional, big-city European hotel experience. Has all the things that make hotel stay in Europe fun. Lots of old hardwood furniture, beautiful spiral staircases, lovely breezy windows, helpful staff, garden patio seating, bidet, etc., etc. But then add in the following things, and this particular hotel is worth returning. A very spacious tiled bathroom with a really GOOD bidet with convenient towels and an atypically spacious shower/bath combination. In-room safe with more room than most. An excellent old-wood closet with plenty of room and hangers. A nice, big bed. Really good buffet breakfast with full courses of American, German, English and Portuguese styles, including coffee, and if you didn't sign up for it, but want to add a few days, no problem. A really GOOD espresso machine with complementary coffee and treats 24/7. A surprisingly parkable private garage in the basement (although you have to use a typically cramped European elevator to get to it). A very fun library with liquor, drinks and treats, and sliding doors to a spectacular garden balcony view of the bay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Quality from start to finish! Class hotel, room and bathroom Traditional. All that we wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel for a city break

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Hotel was gorgeous - particularly loved the roof terrace. Reception staff were lovely but some of the others were rather unfriendly. Breakfasts were delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Diogo Laranjo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and liked particularly our library terrace with its river view and our local breakfast. Concerning our staff, it is our point of honor that every member of the staff, without exception, have a caring and helpful attitude. We are very sorry if that was not your perception with any of our staff outside reception. We value all Guests feedback and we will keep on working hard in order to continuously improve our service. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and have the opportunity to offer you a most pleasant stay. Yours sincerely, Diogo Laranjo General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Charming boutique-style hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Beautiful hotel with small (hidden) terrace for al fresco breakfasts in addition to beautiful inside room; balcony/terrace upstairs for evening drinks. Charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Quaint hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are nice and bed is comfortable. Very nice buffet breakfast. Snack and honor bar are a nice touch. Love the library and terrace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bolton

Elegant and friendly.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Walk to the riverfront.
A real treasure. This hotel is stylish and very clean. The breakfasts were excellent and all the staff were very helpful. The top floor terrace had a great view. We stayed for three night and were sorry to return home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brighton UK

Delightful hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The rooms are comfortable with a decanter of port provided as a welcome. The staff are excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was also excellent.
Cons: Nothing significant
Location: 20 minute walk to city centre. Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga is next door (free to hotel residents). 5 min walk to tram 25, 10 mins to Bica elevador.
The hotel is around 20 minutes, fairly flat, walk from the centre, or you can catch a bus. Tram 25 runs from around 5 minutes away. The hotel is like staying in someone's comfortable home, with great rooms, a great breakfast, and a library/lounge on the third floor with views over the river. No particular shortcomings at all - maybe not best for young children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Poole UK

Fantastic small comfortabl Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Wi FI in the room could be better
Location: On bus and tram route
This lovely almost family run hotel was calm and inspiring, we loved the area, near the bus and tram system, the library room and viewing patio is a must
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Diogo Laranjo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. We are most pleased that you appreciated your stay and particularly our location, the library room and patio. We are terribly sorry that the WiFi connection wasn’t the best one in your room. We carry regular audits on the signal and connectivity on our complimentary WiFi system and as a result of your experience we will recheck and ensure any remedial action is taken immediately. Once more, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon. Yours sincerely, Diogo Laranjo General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Hotel in quiet neighbourhood away from the centre

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Apart from the elegant and comfortable rooms, we also had a sitting room/library with fabulous views over the Tejo, Christ statue and Golden bridge. Honesty bar for drinks and free tea and coffee, we were delighted three!