Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Okay but could be better

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Stayed there one night, the room size was okay but some of the decor was dirty and not maintained. There were a few cob webs in the bathrooms as well as rust on the towel rack and taps. The mirror in the bathroom was also dirty. With a bit of care and love this hotel would drastically approve. On the flip side the bar area was the best part of the hotel. The WiFi in the rooms is terrible keeps disconnecting, it only worked in the bar.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Gorgeous beach location in rustic styled hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The hotel is located on a very scenic and sparsely populated stretch of beach. Although I had never stayed there, my wife had several years ago. The only reason she was willing to return there (aside from the gorgeous setting) was the fact that the hotel's website indicated it had been renovated since her stay. However, the reality is that the hotel has only redone about half of the rooms. Our unrennovated bedroom was perfectly fine, what wasn't was the bathroom. There is really nothing positive that I can say about that room (mold/mildew, flimsy shower curtain, old and tired towels). The rest of the hotel is fine, so I as long as you ensure that your room is one that had been renovated I would anticipate that you will have a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel on best beach around - Great Location

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Old, quaint and a perfect location.
Cons: A coat of paint here and there, a cooked breakfast to be offered.
Location: Perfect location, Sintra, Cascais and Lisbon (Train from Cascais) are all reachable. Use a taxi as busses are the same price.
The Hotel is 'old' world (quaint), has steps everywhere so you need to be steady on your feet. Upgrade your room if you like a good view, Fortress wing sea view is the view from the pictures on website. (Superb) The restaurant is reasonably priced for the area and the food is OK. Don't go to other restaurant nearby unless you want to pay a fortune for a meal. You can use the bar for snacks during the day but the beach side shop is good for quick food and drink. This can be a windy area, so when windy the beach is quiet apart from the normal surfers (Plus wind and Kite). When not windy the beach is busy and the car park is hilarious. The pool has tricky steps down to the area and the water is as cold as the sea. Good for sunbathing when windy. Being a 'surfing' beach the Red flags are out often near the hotel, so unless you have a board you may have to walk to the other end of the beach to swim/jump waves. A taxi to Cascais town center is <10 Eur and 10 mins, there is plenty of choice in the Town for food shopping etc Sintra is also not that far by taxi or organised trip. Overall this is an ideally placed hotel that gives freedom from the towns but still is near enough to travel of an evening or day. The area is expensive but worth a visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Reasonable hotel in an excellent location. Not a luxury place but comfortable and clean. Some fixtures/fittings were broken/damaged and very thin walls/shared door meant that you could hear conversations in neighbouring rooms. Wifi was not usable in the room - we needed to sit outside our room to be able to connect. Some parts of the hotel were quite run down. We stayed in the newer section which was reasonable. If you are expecting a 4 star hotel you will be disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Coral. Florida

Brilliant sea views.

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: The location to Guincho beach was excellent and the surfer always provide good entertainment. Close to our favorite restaurant, Porto do Sant Maria.
Cons: Renovate the whole place.
Location: Surfing. Walks along the Corniche. Incredible sunsets.
This hotel may have in the past received many celebrities but it is now past it's best. The corrosive sea air does immense damage to structures and Muchaxos is no exception. I am mindful the price was better than other hotels in the area but with hindsight I would have preferred to have paid more and stay at a better hotel. Parking can be very difficult as the car park is always saturated with surfers who park in typical Portuguese fashion. Breakfast was very poor with very limited choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely room, beautiful view! Amazing beach!

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Lovely room, beautiful view! And an amazing beach! Shame we were too trusting and paid 90 € for a taxi to the hotel from the airport. Our return fare was €37!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The views from the restaurant and the proximity to the beach.
Cons: The breakfast could have a little more to chose from.
Location: The hotel is on the beach and they have a surf school there. Many people windsurfing and Kite surfing. There is a lot of wind on the coast.
This hotel is directly on the beach. It is a surfer hotel, with a surf school at the hotel. The rooms are not luxury rooms but they are comfortable and clean. The staff was very courteous, and breakfast was ok. The other hotels in the area are very expensive compared to this hotel. The restaurant in the hotel is nice and average as far as pricing goes. The beaches there in that area are very windy and the sun is very strong. When lying on the beach you need to somehow block the sand from flying at you if you are not on a chair. People there have a type of wall they erect, kind of like a tent and that does the trick as well. Definitely wear sunblock, you will not feel the sun until it is too late. The wind makes you feel cool the entire time. The windsurfers and kite surfers were having a blast. Would have totally taken kite surfings classes at the hotel if I had more time. All in all I would definitely go back the next time I am in Portugal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great Old World Charm, perfect location.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Location, Staff
Cons: Wi-Fi does not work in the guest rooms only in a small section of the lobby
Location: Swimming, Fishing, Convenient to Sintra also
This hotel was exactly what I was looking for....a destination that had the location on the beach and was convenient to the airport. After arrival, I did not need to look outside of the hotel for food, beach or relaxation. It was fabulous and very affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Holiday

Posted Feb 8, 2015
I enjoyed a lovely week of rest, albeit during the winter when the weather was variable. The staff on the whole were hospitable and courteous, always ready to assist The hotel is in need of some work, and the lighting perhaps needs improving, but my stay was comfortable, and in a location where I could recharge my batteries Thank you to all the staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Right on the beach

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Convenience, comfort and conviviality
Cons: Nothing I can think of
From the moment my daughter and I arrived we were made to feel very welcome and at home. The room we had was very nicely furnished and as it was a corner room it had dual aspect onto the ocean and so the view changed all the time. To some the bar and restaurant might seem dated, but I really liked the rustic feel, which was a great contrast to the innumerable homogenous chain hotels, which all seem to blend into one. Great location in all ways as it was no more than a minute to walk to the beach, which was perfect after wave dodging and also convenient for Cascais, which was 8/9 Euro by taxi. From there, 8 Euro got us into central Lisbon by train along the coast. Really can't recommend it enough, a real gem.