Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, but poor, overpriced food

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The view and the room.
Cons: The food and the administrative attitude.
Location: Lovely setting, but somewhat removed from the center.
This 5-star hotel is located outside the center of Cascais but in a lovely setting by the ocean. There is no beach, however, although the view is great. The room is very nice, though apparently without heat. The place could be highly recommended, except for one thing--the food. A breakfast, on Christmas Day no less, made me very ill with diarrhea the whole day. And my partner had two room-service meals, very overpriced and of mediocre quality. I suppose if one does not eat all of one's meals at the hotel, one could have a very enjoyable stay. However, that was not the case with us, and the management engaged in "blaming the victim" when the food incident was reported. No compensation or even an apology was offered. Quite unprofessional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two words. Location, service

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Excellent location, quality of service and friendly staff. Although big, comfortable and clean, room start to show signs of use and calling for some renovation. Very good experience though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel with a fantastic position

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: All aspects
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Excellent and good exploring of the old town.
Enjoyed every minute of the experience. Very good facilities and fantastic restaurant especially the Sushi restaurant. Staff very accomodating and efficient. Also good ambience and interesting art work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Nov 11, 2016
The hotel is on a clif facing the ocean. Nice view. The rooms a good, not five star for sure. Reception staff are very pleasant and helpful, however the breakfast waiters are not that friendly and seem to be forced to do their job. Food quality is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Excellent service, good sushi restaurant awesome pool area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Beautiful hotel right on the water's edge

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Used the rental bikes, they could do with some TLC.
Location: Great location for beaches of Cascais and further along the coast, easy train journey to Lisbon, easy bus trip to Sintra.
Loved the location right on the shore. On the edge of Cascais centre, but an easy 10 minute walk into town. Very well kept hotel, great pool terrace (salt water pool) and stunning views from breakfast/dining room terrace. Staff very helpful and attentive.
5 out of 5
by Marcus from U.S.A

World class in Cascais

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
One of the best hotel experiences I've had anywhere. The entire staff was extremely courteous and pleasant in every way. Rarely do you see all staff members exude such a positive attitude and willingness to help with anything. The view from the pool - and the pool itself - were world class. Rarely do I take the time to write a review but the Hotel Farol is one of a kind.
4 out of 5
by Norman

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here on a Thursday night as i was attending a wedding on Friday in penha longa resort. The food was excellent but i was disappointed with my room.Found it small air condition was not working correct.even though i did complain nothing changed.I cancelled my second night here and stayed in the Penha Longa resort.Fabulous.A lot more expensive but worth every minute.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Amazing stay for a romantic get away

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful and luxurious. The location is perfect, a few minute walk from the city center and yet, secluded. The pool area is relaxed and the view is splendid. We had a brief stay, but enjoyed every minute.