Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Lower part of building has fake grass could be updated with either gravel or decking.
Location: Need a car really for this location although hotel have a few bikes. Beaches ideal for surfers. About 1/2 hour away from Lisbon and Sintra.
Booked this hotel for the views and location which did not disappoint. Excellent service the staff were professional and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Romantic fantasy

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Started in a junior suite with not one but two different balconies in the ocean. Antique furniture vaulted ceiling and the crash of the waves! Could you ask for more? Oh yes Hermes soaps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Getting what you pay for - amazing beach hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: The restaurant is an amazing experience, save your pennies and head down for a meal. It's a true experience and there's an amazing amount of food.
The hotel is amazing, it's an old "mansion" that's set on the beach in one of the most magnificent spots in Portugal. Everything about it is 5 star from yester year with modern amenities. Not sure if the restaurant is michelin hat rated, but, it should be. View from the patio was out of this world in the suite. Right overlooking the beach. Definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

An unusual building in a superb location

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: It s character and location.
Cons: Making it clear to guests that dinner has to be booked.
Location: It's good for visits to Cascais, Sintra, Queluz, Mafra, Oerias, and Caixas, and it's easy to get to Belem and into Lisbon.
We very much enjoyed our stay. The slight inconvenience of the location in relation to Cascais is more than compensated for by the character of the building and its superb location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cliff top, wild, Atlantic Ocean experience.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The toilet seat was not a good shape and the lid would not stay up. This is literally the only complaint I had.
Location: less than 10Euro taxi rides into Cascais!
Amazing, friendly, accommodating staff. They answered all my questions and researched various things I was interested in experiencing in the area. The restaurant was, of course, amazing with local ingredients prepared with refined exotic techniques. The bar was perfect for catching a quick, yet delicious meal during a busy day. The location is the best part. Situated on a rock headland over looking Guincho Beach, this hotel is perfect for the vacationing surfer with a little more to spend. The surf is visible from almost any part of the hotel and one can be in the water within 5 min. I will be coming back the next time I am in Portugal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fairytale castle on the edge of the sea

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: We loved the character of the building, the decor, the staff, the food, the location - we had wanted a relaxing beach holiday, & we got exactly that.
Location: We went with the purpose of relaxing on the beach, the location is quite remote, with the nearest town a 10 euro taxi ride away.
We arrived after a bit of a stressful transfer from the airport, the room wasn't quite ready, so we were given a tour of the hotel & offered a complimentary drink on the amazing terrace, which more than compensated for it. The room was absolutely spotless, with a view onto the beach below & gothic features, we loved it. The location was spectacular, with sea views from almost anywhere in the hotel. With breakfast served in the beautiful restaurant, the views from the panoramic windows were almost hypnotic; each evening we were treated to the most amazing sunsets over the sea. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating, there was a lovely touch in the evening with housekeeping knocking at the door to check everything was ok, and to give us some biscotti type treats in little boxes. We borrowed beach towels every day, and we were given bottles of water to take to the beach - we were even able to take some lunch from the bar to the beach, packed in a little picnic bag.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Croatia

Come back

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Last year I visited Guincho beach and the whole year I wanted to come back.This year I came back with my husband and friends to celebrate 33 years of our merriage.We payed the same price like in our country in Dubrovnik,but we got more pleasure for our money in your hotel.See you nex year.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, ontario

5-star old world European class experience

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Location: Shopping in Cascais, touring Sintra & castles, eating everywhere as the food is wonderful and should be enjoyed throughout the day, and the beach!!
Thank you so much to the staff at Fortaleza do Guincho. My sons and I had a wonderful stay at your hotel and very much enjoyed the cuisine, the comfort of the room, the elegance and authenticity of the facility, as well as the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. We would definitely come back and heartily recommend Fortaleza to anyone wanting to experience a world class authentic European experience. Well done :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

stunning location, pretty building

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Views, solitude, beautiful interior and decor, plus ever helpful staff
Cons: There needs to be something between bar snacks and ultra expensive fine dining, which is a bit 1980's. A brasserie? needs a pool and privacy
Location: only the beaches, nothing else. We walked into town, but it was 15KM, a bit too far
We expected the location to be somewhat distant from Cascais and it is, only really accessible via cab ride from the town. The remote location is perfect for the enormous sandy beaches and crashing Atlantic waves and the view from the windows was superb. The room itself ( a superior) was beautifully decorated, but there was no balcony and the bathroom was tiny, with a minuscule whirlpool bath (in 2015!). This small hotel has only one restaurant and the, very expensive, menu was aimed at the fine dining experience, rather than the holiday maker. Breakfast was inclusive and superb. Disappointed that, for a 5* hotel, there were no private grounds other than the car park, no pool and the sun terrace was a small area next to the car park untroubled by staff or, it seemed, most guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Magical hotel and location!

Posted Oct 18, 2014
This hotel exceeds the standards in all areas. We traveled to Portugal for the first time celebrating our daughter's 30th birthday. All 6 of us were so impressed with the beauty of the hotel, it's unique history and location, wonderful restaurant and the professionalism of the entire staff. We are from the United States but all plan on a return visit to this exact spot.