Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Lisbon

Posted Dec 25, 2016
The Hotel Alegria is an old style city hotel. It combines a basic room, clean & well fitted, with stylish accruments. There is currently construction next door, if that bothers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sussex, uk

Great position in the near of Lisbon

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: Location brilliant. Hot jazz club Just opposite. Close to main streets, train station, buses etc.
We were made to feel most welcome. Professional staff. Little touches in reception that made such a difference - water, cookies, pastries, chestnuts, etc etc. Lovely hotel, great breakfast. Definately one to be recommended. Easy to get to from train/ bus etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Very pleasant hotel in a nice section of Lisbon. Easy location for getting around town and lots of good food options nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfortable stay for two

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast
Cons: Quicker housekeeping, they skipped my room or never went and it was already 2 p.m.
Location: Shopping, great bars in the area such as Cinco. Good times!
Staying here was pleasant. It has a nice little park, in a great part of town, near major lines of public transportation and considering the amount of hills, nooks and crannies of this town, this is one that is easy to get to. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had the pleasure of being checked in by Martins and what a delight he was. Admittedly, the rooms are small but they are clean and comfortable and big enough bathrooms (I need the space for makeup, hair styling tools, etc.) At times in the night it can get a little noisy and since it is an older building the wooden floorboards give away the passersby in the hallway but not a bother when you know you are going to be out most nights until the wee morning. The rooms have basic amenities like a TV with cable, usually bed stands and a vanity of some kind, and enough space to hang your clothes but they could use more hangers. Their breakfast is not included but in my opinion the breakfast was well worth the 9.5 Euro. They have coffees, teas, hot and cold items, and considering I like to read they let me stay there for as long as I need while I read the paper and a book. The check in was fast and the lobby area was nice and they always have water and snacks or fruit for the weary traveler waiting to get checked in or while you wait for a cab or something. It was a great stay and I would highly recommend this to anyone. I do believe they may have doubled charged me because they charged both me through Expedia and a
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA, U.S.

Quiet, comfortable elegance in old Lisbon

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The Alegria is pleasant, charming hotel in an older part of the city. We had stayed at a large chain hotel further from the city center for four days, then visited Porto for three, and we chose the Alegria for a final night in Lisbon before flying home. We took advantage of a great deal on this hotel through Expedia on a wonderful corner suite on the third floor, for less than we would have paid for almost any 3- or 4-star hotel in a good part of the city that week in September, which is still tourist season. We had a smallish but nicely appointed bedroom with a/c, a double bed, recently updated bathroom with beautifully tiled shower, and a very large living room. There were flat screen TVs, a mini-fridge and large closet. From the many windows, we could look out over rows of pastel-colored houses and stores with orange-tiled roofs, and there is a nice park across the street with a fountain. There are several decent restaurants for dinner within a few blocks, and the hotel provided an excellent and economical breakfast buffet. The staff was friendly and helpful as well. If you stay in the heart of Lisbon, even in this quieter part, you are bound to hear folks out celebrating during the night a bit, but we found it entertaining, and it was not loud enough to be disturbing. Also, it toned down around midnight and we slept great. We would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in Alfama

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Very lovely hotel, nice and clean room, friendly staff. I recomend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baden-Württemberg, Deutschland

Charmantes Hotel mit Stil in super Lage

Posted Jan 4, 2017
wir waren über Silvester im Hotel Alegria. Das Zimmer und Bad wie auch der Rest des Hotels sind neu renoviert und sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet. Bett war super, Stuckdecke und Kronleuchter ebenso. Das Personal sehr freundlich und unaufdringlich zuvorkommend. Frühstück lecker, frisch, vielseitig und super Kaffee, u.a. Nespresso-Maschine mit verschiedenen Kaffeesorten. Zentrum und alles andere in Laufnähe, Sämtliche Verkehrsmittel ums Eck. können wir uneingeschränkt weiterempfehlen, es war super!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Goed hotel, midden in het centrum

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: De kleinschalige opzet en het vriendelijke personeel
Location: Midden in het centrum, makkelijk bereikbaar per openbaar vervoer. Direct aan Barrio Alto.
Dit kleinschalige hotel bevindt zich midden in het centrum van Lissabon, een goede uitvalsbasis. De receptie/lobby is klein opgezet maar in moderne doch klassieke stijl. Erg vriendelijk personeel en de kamer zijn comfortabel en goed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Le Plessis-Robinson

Petit Hotel de charme

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Proche de l'avenue principale de Lisbonne, qui donne accès à tous les quartiers historiques.
Cet hôtel est très bien situé pour tout visiter à pieds. Le personnel est charmant. Le petit déjeuner est particulièrement bon. Les chambres, confortables.