Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Excellent stay

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The hotel is in a residential neighbourhood with public transport via the quaint old tram to downtown within a short walking distance. Don't be put off by the fact that the hotel isn't right in the city centre - it's actually a blessing. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Thank you all the hotel staff for a pleasant stay, and Xavier very kindly spent over an hour booking me train tickets to Porto! Overall if you look to be out of all the confusion of the city centre I would high recommend the Hotel Estrela.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Quirky hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Quiet, relaxed and different.
Cons: Kettle in room please. More variety at breakfast.
Location: There are shops, restaurants and a market, with restaurants close by. Generally a quieter, less frenetic area of Lisbon, good transport links.
Very comfortable room, light and airy. Only issue was getting in and out of the bath/shower which was not easy! Quirky design based on school theme (hotel was a school previously). Staff were helpful and pleasant. Good to see the young people in training (hotel is connected to the catering school next door). Good breakfast though there could be better variety daily. Restaurant food was lovely. Good location with short walks to trams, buses or metro but remember Lisbon's streets can be steep!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with attentive staff

Posted Mar 13, 2017
My husband and I spent 10 days in March at the Hotel da Estrela in room 21, a spacious suite on the top floor with views of the river and the city. The hotel is in a charming old building with very clean modern facilities inside. The street is quiet and relatively close to the Rato metro stop and the Jardim da Estrela. There are plenty of places to eat in the area. The hotel breakfast buffet included meats, cheese, fruit, cereal, pastries, eggs, yogurt, among other things. We also ate dinner there on a couple of occasions and were not disappointed. The staff were congenial, knowledgeable, and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Exceptionally comfortable bed... Very big room and large bathroom. Great vibe and close to city center. Staff super friendly. DEFINITELY NOT YOUR TYPICAL PLASTIC HOTEL EXPERIENCE...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful stay

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is quiet, near the Estrela Park and Estrela Basilica, in a beautiful and residential area.
I had a great stay in this lovely and centrally located beautiful place, where the room was quiet, spacious, clean and extremely comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boutique and wonderful!

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a little gem tucked away in a beautiful quiet neighbourhood.. As a very fussy traveller, I was very impressed with everything and highly recommend it.. Amazing everything, and different in its design.. Would stay again!
5 out of 5
by Andras from London

short break in excellent boutique hotel in Lisbon

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Five days/four nights with my partner. Fabulous staff, always there to help, not pushy at all. The hotel is in an excellent condition. The layout of the room was slightly unusual, but it grew on us gradually. I would definitely return to this very hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Lovely hotel!

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Upgraded to a suite as a surprise. Lovely breakfast. Superb friends staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

All wrong, but great fun!

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: It has personality.
Cons: It should be a more professional!
The hotel consists of just 19 rooms and is located next to the Lisbon hotel school. The staff consists mostly of students at the school and everyone is pleasant and smiling. The building is a former palace -later used as a school I understand- and has been renovated in a modern style with a "school" theme. I'm not sure that the architect has ever done a hotel before, with silly little things such as a multiplicity of light switches that you have to figure out, and power points to charge the phones, tablets and laptops that we all carry these days at the level of the floor. As a luxury hotel it fails. The staff isn't professional enough (that figures...), the rooms are quirky rather than luxurious and WiFi is iffy. But it's quite comfortable and pleasant and those of us who are fed up with cookie-cutter characterless luxury hotels will thoroughly enjoy the experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Very helpful friendly staff. Restaurant nice, breakfast good. Internet reception (wifi) free, but poor. Unusual decor with a 'school' theme - not sure that it works. OVerall good