Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing view from hotel lobby

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Update some rooms
Room was a bit cramped but overall great deal. Lobby view was amazing.
5 out of 5
by Karol

Peaceful serene and beautiful.

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time. Very beautiful, serene, and peaceful. We were celebrating our 50th wedding Anniversary. It was very quiet due to being off season. We got around on the bus for side trips. Perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Classic Portuguese hotel overlooking the beach

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Furniture in room could be much more practical/comfortable.
Location: Sesimbra is a beautiful old fishing village with a nice beach boardwalk. Great restaurants, particularly Lobo do Mar!
Constructed in 1963, the hotel has changed little over the years...and that's not a bad thing necessarily. Hotel staff are excellent, premises are very clean and well kept, and the location overlooking the beach and harbour of Sesimbra is fantastic. First visited this hotel in 1980...and things have not changed much since then...like stepping back into the past. On the down side, there are chairs in the room...but they are literally child-size. And don't think about TV too much because the screen size is like a small PC monitor: both quirks of a charming, old-style hotel. And last, the hotel breakfast service is very basic...and don't drink the coffee. All that said, I would certainly stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Low Season Beach Visit

Posted Nov 27, 2016
We visited on a Monday in November. It was a very quiet place at that time of year. Great access to the beach and a short walk into town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
We were extremely pleased with our six-night bed and breakfast stay at the hotel. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The rooms were comfortable, well-equipped and very well presented. The swimming facilities were excellent with no over-crowding in the pools despite the hotel's popularity and hot weather. All members of staff were courteous and most welcoming.
4 out of 5
by Claire from Bristol

Great location!

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. The hotel could do with an update but couldn't fault it for cleanliness and was quiet at night. Slept well! Breakfast a bit chaotic if you hit the busy time but food was good quality and variety. Atmosphere was of slightly old fashioned hotel but this was also part of it's charm! Location is excellent and hotel gardens / outside pool are lovely and access to beach us good once you work out lift. Sesimbra is beautiful
5 out of 5
by robert from Southampton

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
I last stayed at this Hotel 40 years ago. It has been extended, but we stayed in the old part. The rooms are unusual but absolutely magic!! Will return again, now I can remember the name.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne. Australia

A good hotel.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: I loved the ambiance of the rooms. The shutters were nice. The pool area was nice as well.
Cons: I did not like the breakfast at all. To me the bacon was not cooked enough and it was boring. The bed was shockingly hard and uncomfortable.
Location: The location was excellent. Walking distance to the town and all the cafes and restaurants. The beach was across the small road.
We met some friends here and spent 4 nights. It is in a great location. Easy walking to the many cafes and restaurants. The beach directly across the road. Had a good pool as well. Overall THEhotel had a relaxing feel about it.