Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Great hotel and nice stuff very experienced You make it difficult to review to be honest take it easy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrogate, UK

Nice Hotel in need of Investment

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Staff Public areas Pool Gardens
Cons: General refurbishment, in particular the bedrooms & bathrooms
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Palacio & we would probably stay again. In general the staff friendly & helpful. The breakfast was a hot & cold buffet offering a good selection reasonable quality food. The staff were helpful for any special requests such as Americano, instead of stewing filter coffee; freshly squeezed orange juice instead of packet juice; eggs to order instead of scrambled eggs. The pool area & gardens were nice, although the garden could be improved; over growing hedges, plants & untended bedding plants. The biggest disappointment was the bedroom & bathroom which were in need of general refurbishment. The bedroom was also quite dusty on most surfaces. I wouldn't class the standard offered as 5 star accommodation. The feeling is the Palacio is living in the past and needs updating for the 21st century
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central Location For Sightseeing and Casino

Posted Jul 4, 2016
The comfort of the hotel was excellent and its location made visiting Sintra, Obidos and other places of interest very easy in a hire car. The casino is also on the door step for evening entertainment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel but beginning to look worn !

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: It's location, most amenities to hand.
Cons: The main restaurant ! I was celebrating my 60th birthday the menu was practically the same as last year ! white wine ordered hadn't been chilled !
For a five star hotel I think it needs some investment as its beginning to look frayed and tired around the edges. You can't fault the staff always on hand with a smile and willing to help and cater for your any of your needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful old world hotel on Portuguese coast

Posted Jun 11, 2016
This hotel is beautifully kept. It's exactly how you would expect a palace hotel to be. The staff are one of the best assets, they go out of their way to help you. The food is also very good, so good that it's hard to find a reason to eat out. The surrounding area is also very pretty, particularly the town of cascais which you can reach by walking along the promenade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Classically stylish hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Overall style, comfort & location.Courteous & helpful staff - especially the Doorman who has worked at the hotel for 65 years.
Cons: The beds! Twin beds in a double room?!! Rather firm & quite narrow.
Location: Nice setting in well kept gardens. Close to small park, Casino, restaurants, railway, beach & promenade walk to Caiscai. Lisbon & Sintra in easy reach
A grand hotel providing comfortable, spotlessly clean accomodation & courteous, helpful staff. The hotel is set in attractive gardens with an immaculate pool which is maintained to an excellent standard by the poolside assistant who promptly provides mattresses & towels as required. A visit to the Hydro Spa (the Banyan Tree), owned by the hotel, is a MUST! We stayed on a B&B basis & Breakfast was buffet style with a good variety of sweet & savoury options, hot & cold choices & was plentiful. Definitely no need to leave feeling hungry! We didn't take any other meals in the hotel, preferring to dine in a variety of local restaurants. A short walk from the hotel you will find a local rail shuttle which takes you to nearby Caiscai (approx 5 minutes away), in one direction, or to Lisbon (30/40 minutes), in the other direction. A 7-day rail ticket cost €12.50 with unlimited usage & trains run about every 20 minutes. This was excellent value for us as we went into Caiscai usually once or twice a day & enjoyed to walk one way & took the train the other way. - The walk is along a wide, flat promenade overlooking the beach & the sea & takes approx 45 minutes/1 hour. Using the train to visit Lisbon was perfect taking approx 40 minutes. The railway station is close to the central area & waterfront of Lisbon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Perfect!

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: nothing
Location: The Estoril Casino, Cascais, Sintra (th City of the Romanticism), the beach.
Wonderful !second time in Hotel Palace , everything is perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Returned after 49 years - glad we did

Posted May 31, 2016
The concierge has a deal with the hotel drivers to charge more for a run to the airport than regular taxis - difference was 15 Euros - probably some private arrangement
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Old World Charm in a Modern World.

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: Every thing
Cons: No their path is correct
Location: Beauty of the surrounding area, great food and quality shopping.
This hotel with great history has all the charm and professionalism that harkens back to days gone by. The hotel and all its staff makes and made for us a very exceptional stay. As we were touring This part of the world we made sure to make a 5 day stop here for we so enjoyed our experience two years ago.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel but bad policy

Posted Apr 12, 2016
The reason for my rating is that there was a mistake made during the booking and I ended up paying for 4 rooms when all I needed was 2. Expedia stood behind the mistake but the hotel would NOT.